Veg loaded, carb free salmon dinner

We had not been at the allotment for a few weeks, there is not much going on at the moment but we thought we would have a go and see what is going on and, if we could pick anything edible for dinner.

The broad beans and onion are looking strong and hardy, with the slightly warmer weather I hope spring has started and we can get planning what to grow this year properly! There are still veg to be picked, there was some lovely sprouting broccoli, perfect to go with today’s salmon and I also picked cavolo nero and a swede. For another day I picked some Brussels sprouts, a cabbage head, some beets and a few parsnips. In all we came away with a nice bag full of goodies to take us through the week.

I bought some lovely tomatoes in the shop and decided to dry them. I used some thyme, black pepper and sea salt and placed them in the oven to dry, it turned out so good we ate a whole pack with our dinner!

17FebTomatoes

I found some irresistible looking little sweet peppers that I had to buy. I stuffed them with feta cheese.

17FebPeppers

Feta cheese stuffed peppers

  • feta cheese, crumbled
  • cottage cheese 
  • 2 spring onions, chopped 
  • parsley, chopped 
  • creme fraiche 
  • pepper

Mix all the ingredients with a fork and add pepper to taste.Cut the top of the peppers and stuff them with the feta cheese mix and set aside until it is time to serve. The pepper is crunchy and sweet and it works well with the tangy, salty feta cheese.

I got salmon for dinner and a classic combination is to have it with asparagus so I got some. I set a few spears aside and made soup for a starter.

Asparagus & lemon soup, amuse bouche size for 2

  • 4 asparagus spears
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • zest of 1/2 lemon 
  • 1 tsp lemon juice 
  • milk 
  • 1 tbsp cream
  • parsley, chopped
  • 1 small pinch of cayenne pepper 
  • salt & white pepper 

Peel the asparagus stems and then slice. Place in a pan together with the spring onion and add the milk, lemon juice, chopped parsley, cream and cayenne pepper and bring to boil. Then add the lemon zest and cook until the asparagus is soft, it won’t take very long. Whizz in the blender, return to the pan and let it heat through again, taste with salt and white pepper and serve.

17FebAsparagusSoup

First I placed the cavolo nero in the steamer as this would take the longest time to cook. I cut out florets from the cauliflower and placed in a pan together with the inner leaves and swede, peeled and cut in to matc stick size to cook at the same time. Once that was done I added salt and pepper to the salmon and heated up the frying pan. Once hot I seared the salmon and finished the cooking off in the oven.

17FebSalmon

When the salmon was cooking I added the sprouting broccoli and asparagus spears to the steamer and turned the heat off but kept the lid on until I was ready to plate up.

I toasted sesame seeds and pine kernels. I heated some tomato oil and added chilli to infuse. Once the greens were cooked I did a sprinkle of chilli oil and a squeeze of lemon.

17FebGreenVeg

Once the cauliflower and swede was cooked through I mashed them with some of the cooking liquid and a tbsp of cream, tasting with salt and pepper before serving.

It was a very light but satisfying dinner, loaded with veg and set me up for an early start the next morning.

17FebSalmonDinner

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors always great Made with Love Mondays – all about cooking from scratch.

MadeWithLove

Comments
2 Responses to “Veg loaded, carb free salmon dinner”
  1. What an intriguing combination of flavors for the amuse bouche – I’ve never combined lemon with asparagus before, but this sounds delicious as a pairing with salmon… Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

