Zucchini rolls, the first asparagus and a pistachio and coconut rhubarb crumble

It is so beautiful outside with everything in bloom I just had to get the camera out and direct it towards something else than just food for once! I took it to the allotment and did a walk around. It looks quite bare at the moment but everything is blooming.

The apple trees look stunning and if there will be as many apples as there are flowers we are in for a great year!

05May_AppleTreeFlowers

The rosemary is in bloom with lovely light blue flowers.

05May_RosemaryFlowers

The hardy dandelion is always blooming but no matter how annoying they are, they are pretty and the yellow always looks happy and bright.

05May_Dandelion

We picked the first batch of asparagus. I only picked 5 stems and wanted to let the flavour really come through. I also picked some chives and some wild garlic, I have one wild garlic plant at the allotment and it never fails to produce!

Feta cheese creme

  • 1 pack of feta cheese 
  • the zest of 1 lemon
  • cracked black pepper
  • 3 tbsp low fat yoghurt
  • chives

Crumble the feta and mash it up with a fork. Mix in the yoghurt, lemon zest, black pepper and the chopped chives.

Steam the asparagus, add feta cheese and extra virgin olive oil.

05May_FirstAsparagus

Zucchini rolls, slice the zucchini length wise, brush with oil and grill the slices approx 4 minutes on each side in a griddle pan until the soften. Spread a thin layer of the feta cheese creme along about 2/3 of the zucchini strip. Place a leaf of wild garlic, a baby spinach leaf on top and roll up. Secure with a toothpick before serving.

05May_ZucchiniRolls

I also picked some rhubarb. It is really strong and I picked some for a crumble.

Coconut and pistachio rhubarb crumble, serves 4, oven at 180C

The crumble

  • ½ dl toasted coconut 
  • 30 gr toasted pistachio nuts
  • 3 heaped tbsp sugar
  • 1 dl spelt flour
  • 2 dl oatmeal
  • 125 gr butter

The filling

  • 4 rhubarb stalks
  • 1 punnet of strawberries
  • 2 dl sugar

Grind the toasted pistachio nuts, place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix the crumble.

Mix the rhubarb and the strawberries with the sugar and add the crumble on top, bake for 35 minutes.

05May_RhubarbCrumble

I did a vanilla sauce to go with it and the first pick of rhubarb of the year tasted very nice!

05May_Crumble&Vanilla

Everything is planned for the allotment, the seeds are in, we need to buy some plants as it is so late in the year but it is looking to be a good summer with lots of nice produce.

I have entered this to Karens lovely Lavender and LovageHerbs on Saturday, this time hosted by Anneli Faiers Delicieux and Javelin Warriors always challenging Made with Love Mondays

MadeWithLoveherbsonsaturday

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Zucchini rolls, the first asparagus and a pistachio and coconut rhubarb crumble”
  1. Hi Janice, thanks for entering Herbs On Saturday this month. Your asparagus and courgette rolls are both so pretty! Just the kind of fresh summery food I love to eat. And your crumble sounds great too. I love the addition of pistachios. Yum. I would happily eat it all.

  2. Nice Petra! I always prepare courgette parcels, but I haven’t tried your interesting filling, …yet!

  3. These zucchini rolls look amazing, Petra! And beautifully photographed… I’m drooling just looking at the photo. And I’ve recently been making rhubarb crumble and I don’t think there can be a better dessert 😉

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you! 🙂 that really made me smile! Glad you like it, they are so easy to make! Rhubarb is so nice and we have so much of it at the allotment at the moment!

  4. ediblethings says:

    I love the idea of these rolls. And as the courgettes come along this year, I’m sure this will be a welcome addition to barbecues. They’re a little late this year, but I’m going to try this soon.

    And I have added hazelnuts to crumble, but I haven’t thought to try pistachios.

    Thanks for some lovely ideas

Leave a Reply

