Being spoilt at the Greenhouse, Dublin

I wanted to try something new whilst in Dublin and I found a couple of restaurants. After checking with my Irish foodie friend she suggested The Greenhouse, just off St Stephens Green in central Dublin. Her recommendations never fail and after reading the menu I quickly made sure we had a table!

Reading on the website of The Greenhouse in Dublin it claims to be “a unique restaurant of understated luxury” and I can’t do anything but agree. The food is innovative, light and simply delicious.  It is not a place for a rushed lunch but to enjoy the food, the wine and to have a sensible conversation. I arrived slightly before opening but was quickly seated and was left with time to have a proper browse through the menu. There were  two starters and two main courses to choose from but I could not make my mind up!

My friend arrived and it made for two of us unable to decide. In the end we decided to go for different starters and different mains and share! How perfect! We started with a lovely, cool glass of bubbly and some pre starters from the chef.

18April_GreenHouse_PreStarter2

18April_GreenHouse_PreStarter1

18April_GreenHouse_PreStarter3

18April_GreenHouse_Parmesan

They were all that perfect little bite and simply delicious. We shared a lovely bottle of wine to go with the food. Unfortunately as I did not take a picture of the wine I can’t remember what it was. The flavor was light but earthy and went very well with all our food.

I opted for yellowfin tuna, avocado, radish, warm kalamnsi mayo, soy tapioca as a starter. It lived up to the expectations set by the pre starters! It was as beautiful as it was delicious.

18April_GreenHouse_starter1

My friend opted for the foie gras royale & frozen sea buckthorn, smoked eel and walnut.

18April_GreenHouse_Starter2-2

It came in 2 parts

18April_GreenHouse_Starter2

I think we took turns sneaking a little bite of each others plates! When the main courses arrived it was no different, we both had a tiny bit of food envy but as we were sharing it worked out just fine!

My friend opted for glazed cod, asparagus & Alexander risotto, baby squid & chicken wing, it looked like a work of art and the chicken wing was great, I had never thought of matching it with cod. I love to be surprised.

18April_GreenHouse_Fish

I can never resist pork belly and this one was fab! It was cooked at low temperature for 62 hours, needless to say it simply melted in my mouth! It was roast piglet, peas, Iberico ham, potato mousseline and liquorice.

18April_GreenHouse_PorkBerlly

There was no room for desserts, even if we both thought there might be, just for a short second when we saw some of them come out so we opted for sharing a selection of artisan cheeses. A perfect ending to such a lovely meal. As always, great food always tastes better in great company!

18April_GreenHouse_Cheese

If you are in Dublin don’t miss this The Greenhouse! With the location it might be even better after a spot of shopping!

Comments
2 Responses to “Being spoilt at the Greenhouse, Dublin”
  1. What a great experience Petra (to be honest you always review very good, interesting restaurants!). I’m interested in glazed cod, asparagus & Alexander risotto, baby squid & chicken wing???

    • petra08 says:

      The cod was just amazing. The chicken wing was great, the meat so mellow and great with the cod! It sounded slightly odd but it worked so well! There was nothing left on the plate when we were done!

Leave a Reply

