The Guinness Storehouse and a Guinness inspired stew

The Guinness Storehouse is the biggest tourist attraction in all of Ireland. Despite having been to Dublin quite a few times I had never been. Keen to rectify this a brilliant opportunity came up and it was time to see the Guinness Storehouse. The tour actually started in the cab on the way there. As soon as the building was in sight our cab driver explained, proud of his city land mark, said it was at some point the tallest building in the world. I am not sure if this is correct but Guinness is a company with a long and impressive history.

One of the most amazing facts is that in 1959, Arthur Guinness signed a 9,000 year lease at the annual rent of £45!  Imagine if that was possible today!

The building is great and full of atmosphere.

18April_GuinnessStoreHouse1

We made our way floor by floor up.

18April_GuinnessShaft

18April_GuinnessBarrels

We found some truths along the way

18April_GuinnessSign

Some old ads 18April_GuinnessPoster

in the end we made it up to the bar with a stunning 360 degree view and we were in luck as the sun was out and we could see the Wicklow mountains, of course whilst enjoying a pint of Guinness. I am not normally a Guinness drinker but it tasted pretty good.

18April_GuinnessDraft

After the pint we started to make our way down and on the ground floor they had the ingredients, including this beautiful waterfall.

18April_GuinnessWater

In celebration of all the history we decided to get back to town by horse and carriage. The lovely Nellie took us through the Dublin neighbourhoods.

18April_Nelly

It was slightly off to travel in such an old fashion way and look out and see a very modern Dublin, but still very nice and I would recommend it as a way to travel around.

18April_View

This inspired me to cook a dish with Guinness. My first idea was a chocolate cake but as I am not a baker I thought a stew. I read a few recipes and they seemed quite easy. I wanted to make it from oxtail, a cut I still haven’t cooked with. When I went to the Robsons’ they were more geared up for barbecue meats  so I got shin of beef instead. This is a great cut, very cost efficient and all it needs is long and slow cooking. I wanted to make it light despite it  being a stew so it is loaded with veg.

Ginger & Guinness beef stew, serves 4-6, oven 160C

  • 1 carrot
  • shin of beef
  • 1 onion
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 can of Guinness
  • 2 bayleaves
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing ricewine
  • parsely stalks
  • Szechuan peppercorns
  • ½ garlic
  • 3-4 cm ginger
  • flour
  • salt & pepper

To be added later 

  • 2 small carrots 
  • 10 baby potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 2 lemons
  • 4 mushrooms, quatered
  • spinach
  • 2 heaped tbsp creme fraiche

Peel the carrot and cut up in pieces, slice the celery and the onion. Cut the ginger fine and cut the garlic cloves roughly.

I bought the meat whole and I dusted it with flour and browned it. I added the veg, the parsley, bayleaves, peppercorns and the Guinness.. Let it cook for 2 hr in the oven.

05May_GuinnessStewCooking

After two hours take the pot out of the oven. Remove the meat and the bayleaves. Place everything in the blender and give is a whizz until smooth. If you don’t like the crunch from the Szechuan peppercorns put through a sieve. Put everything back in the pot, add carrot, potatoes, onion and the juice of 1 lemon. Place in the oven to cook for another hour.

Take it out of the oven and add chopped spinach, creme fraiche and and the juice of another lemon. Put the lid back on and let stand for 10 minutes. Serve with chopped lettuce, sliced spring onion and fresh parsley.

05May_GuinnessStewServed

It might be slightly more of a winter dish but it works well with a salad and all the veg made it work.

Comments
4 Responses to “The Guinness Storehouse and a Guinness inspired stew”
  1. I’d love to go! Can’t believe the story about that lease, what amazing negotiating skills he must have had! I love the sound of your stew too.

    • petra08 says:

      it is such a great story! It was so nice to be a tourist for once! My next project is a Guinness and chocolate cake, if you come across any recipes let me know! 🙂

  2. K Donkey says:

    I’ve been to Dublin many times and have never been – seems like I must fix that next time I go – love the idea of ginger and beef – not a spice I would think of adding to a beef stew….

    • petra08 says:

      Yes if you can go t the Guinness store house! My inspiration to use ginger comes from my local Chinese where they have ginger and beef as a dish! 🙂 I then added a few more things… But if in Dublin, the Blackboard Bistro is a must! Am quite sure you will love it!

Leave a Reply

