Green peppercorn & romesco sauce curry after a day at the Twickenham Sevens

We have gone to the Rugby Sevens at Twickenham a few years in a row now and it is always a great day out! Until this year we have had some incredible luck with the weather but this year the sun seemed a little paler and before we left it started to drizzle with rain. It didn’t matter too much for us, more for those in incredible, but in some cases, flimsy outfits!

12May_SevensDay

This years theme was safari and some made an incredible effort but we also spotted some Santa Claus, Morris Dancers and a few super heroes! There was a lot of action on the pitch, very entertaining.

12May_SevensGame3

12May_SevensGame1

12May_SevensGame2

The wind was increasing and after almost a half day and a few pints later it got quite cold getting home. I hadn’t bought any dinner as I wasn’t sure quite  what state we would be in when getting back. It proved that the cold wind and the drizzly rain helped us sober up quite well and the first thing we needed was steaming hot cup of tea! Still a little cold I decided to make a veg curry.

The day before I had made a romesco sauce with some vague idea of eating it the following day. I had it in a restaurant and wanted to have a try. I didn’t look up a recipe but wanted to see if I could make one from taste memory. I am not sure if this was correct, it needs to be fine tuned even if nice and I did grind the almonds too fine, still the flavors were there, so here is my version. Next time I will not grind the almonds at all beforehand.

Romesco sauce, oven 160C

  • 4 small red peppers 
  • 1 whole garlic
  • 1 dl ground almond or 1-1½ dl toasted almonds
  • 1 dl extra virgin olive oil
  • salt & pepper

I cut the top of the garlic, added some olive oil and wrapped it in tin foil before baking it in the oven for 45 minutes. I baked the peppers for about 25 minutes, by then the skin came off easily and they were nice and soft.

I placed all the ingredients in the blender and whizzed until smooth, then add salt and pepper to taste. It worked very well but the almonds next time will add more texture.

I let the sauce cool and put in the fridge over night.

After the rugby I started on my curry, still using the fresh green peppercorns, I wish I could get them closer to home as they are so delicious!

Green peppercorn & romanesco curry, serves 4

  • 1 celery stalk, sliced 
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 paneer cheese, cubed
  • 2 stalks of fresh green peppercorns
  • ½ courgette, sliced and quartered
  • ½ red pepper, de seeded and chopped
  • 5 mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1 tin of tomatoes, (I used yellow pomodori tomatoes)
  • ½ tin of water
  • 2 sliced spring onions
  • 1 tin of beans, any kind you like, tinned or pre cooked
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • 1 pinch of cayenne
  • oil for cooking
  • 2 tbsp of romanesco sauce
  • salt & pepper to taste

Start by preparing all the veg and cut up the paneer cheese. I cooked the mushrooms until there was no more liquid in them and set aside. Toast the spices in a little oil and when the mustard seeds starts to pop and you can smell the spices add the carrot, garlic, onion and celery. Don’t brown them just let them soak up the spices. Then add the paneer cheese and let simmer for 10 minutes.

When this is done add the rest of the ingredients except the romanesco sauce and the spring onions. Simmer for an additional 5 minutes until it is warmed through.

I thought my curry lacked body so I decided to add the romanesco sauce and it was delicious! It made the sauce thicker and the roast garlic and peppers gave it a lovely flavor.  I didn’t use all the romaesco sauce I had so I served it on the side and it all went!

12May_SevensCurry

It was a little unexpected but was really delicious. I only used a small amount of cooking oil and there was olive oil in the romanesco sauce but in all it was a fresh and healthy and warmed us up nicely!

Leave a Reply

