Meatball Sunday!

I woke up and after having thought a little about it decided that I wanted meatballs for dinner. I am not sure why but I needed something comforting. When I was young I ate meatballs with mash potato, lingonberry jam, gravy , pickle cucumber and a salad. I decided to make something that took me back to my childhood but incorporate more veg.

Swedish veg loaded meatballs, oven 190C

  • 500 gr mince meat
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs dried breadcrumbs
  • milk, enough to cover the crumbs
  • 1 celery stalk, cut fine
  • 1 red chilli, cut fine
  • 1 yellow onion, grated
  • 1 apple, grated
  • chopped parsley
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • cayenne pepper
  • paprika powder
  • salt & pepper

For the sauce

  • 1 tomato, diced with the seeds removed
  • 1 bunch of spinach leaves, roughly chopped
  • 2 dl chicken stock
  • 1 dl low fat cream
  • soy sauce

Start  by mixing the breadcrumbs and milk, once they start to swell mix in the mince meat and the egg. Once this is mixed through add the spices, quickly mix through and then add the remaining ingredients and mix. Use your hands to shape the meatballs.Place them on a teflon baking paper.

19May_RawMeatballs

Cook for 25 minutes and then place the meatballs in a pan and add the chicken stock and the cream. Add a dash of soy sauce and let simmer for 10 minutes. After that add the diced tomato and the spinach and let simmer for an additional 10-15 minutes.

19May_MeatballsCooked

Once the meatballs were simmering I made a lemon mayonnaise to go with today’s asparagus harvest from the allotment. I just steamed the asparagus to get the maximum flavour. I also picked the first artichoke of the year, a baby one and so tender we could eat it sliced raw.

19May_Artichoke

19May_Asparagus

I wanted to have my meatballs with mash but I didn’t have any potatoes at home so I used half a cauliflower that I had left over from the other day and I used this to make mash. I used nothing but salt and pepper to taste and gave it a sprinkle of chive flowers and parsley.

19May_CauliflowerMash

I did a lot of meatballs but they almost all went. Adding celery and apple make the meatballs lighter. The tomatoes added some acidity to the sauce and it was indeed a very comforting meal.

19May_Meatballs

Comments
4 Responses to “Meatball Sunday!”
  1. sebbyholmes says:

    These meatballs look amazing. Very well produced dish which is making me hungrier with every word. I shall certainly be giving this one a go. Thanks

    Sebbyholmes

    • petra08 says:

      I love meatballs, glad you like the look of the them! The veg inside them makes them slightly lighter 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    Hi – Thanks for recommending baking paper with Teflon® nonstick coatings while making your Swedish Veggie Loaded Meatball recipe! I represent DuPont and it’s always a pleasure to see people recommending our products in their recipes.

    For more great recipes and tips for your cookware with Teflon® nonstick coatings, visit:
    http://www2.dupont.com/Teflon/en_US/carefree_cooking_magazine/index.html and
    http://www.pinterest.com/TeflonBrand! Also, feel free to check out our Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/teflonbrand) and Twitter (https://twitter.com/teflonbrand) pages. Thanks! Cheers, Sara

Leave a Reply

