A foodie festival, the truth about oysters and a miso cod dinner

The bank holiday started quite cold but sunshine was promised and yesterday morning was glorious! I have been to the Hampton Court Foodie festival a few years in a row now and it is always good. Last year was less charming as it was very rainy and cold, I remember my pimms seemed to last forever as the rain kept filling my cup up faster than I drank it! This year was different, it was perhaps the best day of the year, the sky was clear blue and it was so warm! This year my pimms seemed to evaporate!

The festival was full!

26May_FoodieFestival_people

There were lots of stalls with all kinds of foods and my first stop was the pimms stand!

26May_FoodieFestival_Pimms

Crunchy candy, you know that deep fried mars bar, here it got company!

26MayFoodieFestivalCrispyCandy

No English food festival is complete without the hog roast.

26May_FoodieFestivalHogRoast

There were plenty of options for vegetarians.

26May_FoodieFestivalTagine

The classic sausage on a barbecue was very tempting

26May_FoodieFestivalSausages

There were some fantastic cakes

26May_FoodieFestivalCakes

We stopped at the chefs tent and saw Ben Tish from the Saltyard demo empenadas.

26May_FoodieFestivalBenTish

We discovered the truth about oysters, lazy but tasty!

26May_FoodieDestivalOysterTruth

of course we had to sample some! Delicious.

26May_FoodieFestivalOysters

I was delighted to sample a Gin I had not tried before, Pinkster! I will buy some of that.

26May_FoodieFestival_Gin

After spending a whole afternoon at the foodie festival, sampling the food and buying some delicious foods and perhaps enjoying a drink too many we headed home for some chill out time and dinner! I had pre planned dinner as I didn’t think we would be in to anything too complicated and I was right.

Miso tofu & cod, serves 4, oven at 180C

  • 750 gr cod fillet
  • 1 pack of firm tofu
  • 1 pack white miso paste
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp mirin

The day before I heated the miso with the sugar and mirin, it just needs to be warm enough to dissolve the sugar. Then marinate the fish and the tofu in the miso over night.

I placed the cod and the tofu, with all the marinade in an oven proof dish and baked it for 20 minutes.

Whilst that was baking I made a salad, we were not too hungry so I didn’t want a heavy meal. I made a salad of sweetcorn and mango with a sour lemon based dressing to go with it and it was a great meal.

26May_Salad

The cod

26May_TofuCod

The tofu

26May_Tofu

We ate it with samphire and there was nothing left and it might be my new favorite way of cooking and eating cod!

Leave a Reply

