A taste of summer – a twist on the classic asparagus & egg

It is our third “asparagus” year at the allotment and we get so much it is incredible. Last year we picked just a few spears but this year we actually get almost more than we can eat! We finally have so much in the ground, it could be a little warmer but it seems to be growing so despite the late start, lets hope for a good Indian summer!

Egg and asparagus is such a classic combination and I wanted to make a twist on it and it worked out quite well. I used an English truffle oil, I know opinion is divided about truffle oil but this is English rapeseed oil infused with English truffle so no synthetic truffle flavours!

Asparagus and truffled egg with smoked reindeer, serves 2 as a starter

  • Fresh asparagus spears, peel if necesessary
  • 2 soft boiled eggs
  • 2 heaped tbsp of creme fraiche (I used light)
  • 2 – 3 drops of truffle oil
  • smoked meat, cubed
  • salt & white pepper

Start with the truffled egg. Peel the soft boiled eggs and press through a fine sieve. Mix it with the creme fraiche, the truffle oil and taste with salt and pepper. Set aside in the fridge and let cool.

Steam the asparagus for 4 minutes and then drain them on paper. Give them a light brush with oil and place on the grill. Meanwhile cube the meat. I used warm smoked reindeer that I picked up at the airport in Sweden last time I was over. It has a lot of flavour and a very nice salty, smoky flavour.

When the asparagus is done place them on a plate, add the meat and finally the egg before serving.

01June_Asparagus

The egg was super light and there was just a mere hint of truffle. It was a nice contrast to the meat and the tender asparagus and the best thing of all was that it tasted like summer!

 

I have entered this to Javelins Warriors always challenging and inspirational Made with Love Mondays!

MadeWithLove

Comments
6 Responses to “A taste of summer – a twist on the classic asparagus & egg”
  1. ediblethings says:

    I have to go to Sweden regularly, and I always pick up some of the reindeer meat. I’d never thought to pair it with asparagus, but I’m going to try it now. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • petra08 says:

      hi
      I had way too much time at the airport this time but am glad I did! What do you usually do with your reindeer meat?

  2. I have never tried reindeer before, but I have had venison, and I can imagine that smoked reindeer would be delicious. Especially with asparagus and egg! What a tasty dish, Petra…

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you 🙂 Reindeer isn’t very different from venison but reindeer is slightly less gamy in flavour and they are both delicious. It was nice with the egg and asparagus, could work as a light brunch dish as well as a starter.

  3. sebbyholmes says:

    I have never eaten reindeer before? This looks really interesting. I will definitely give it a go. Thanks Petra

    • petra08 says:

      hi
      It is good, if you can’t find it try smoked venison or smoked duck! I am sure that will work as well, or ham! There is a lot of readily available reindeer meat in Sweden, I guess Norway and Finland as well! But if you come across it, it is worth a try!

Leave a Reply

