Smoked tomato with asparagus broth and BBQ time

The nice weather inspired me to do a barbecue. I could not wait to get to Robson’s to get a chicken as this was my choice of the day. I asked Zack (Mr Robson) to chop it up for me and he gave me 10 nice pieces and the odd bits and giblets in a separate bag. I spotted some duck breasts and one was sold as a single and I had to buy it. I wasn’t quite sure what to do but I had some idea of smoking it. I got some sausages as well, one of them a Toulouse sausage, my favourite for soups and stews.

I went home with lots of ideas and the first thing I did was to get the marinade going for the chicken.

Chicken marinade

  • The zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • rapeseed oil
  • salt & pepper

Mix all the ingredients and and give it a whisk and pour over the chicken. Let marinade for as long as you have, I had about 3 hours but would have done it overnight.

I had quite a few cherry tomatoes and rather that just making a tomato salad I decided to get my smoking gun out. I don’t use it all that often but I still love playing with it!

01June_SmokeGun

I blanched the cherry tomatoes and removed the skin. I then added smoke from white oak and let stand for a couple of hours.

While the tomatoes were infusing I took the odd bits of chicken and the giblets and made a stock. I had quite a few of the woody part of the asparagus spears so I added them and gave the stock an asparagus flavour. I set most of the stock aside but simmered some down to concentrate the flavour. I placed a smoked tomato in a small serving bowl and added the stock for an amuse bouche. The smokiness was a nice background note and very nice.

01June_Tomato

I did a mango and chive flower salsa to go with the meat.

01June_Salsa

I had some watermelon and decided to grill it and serve with some cheese.

Grilled watermelon with soft cheese, serves 2

  • 2 slices of watermelon
  • soft goats cheese
  • 2 tbsp of light creme fraiche
  • 1 red chilli, finely chopped
  • a pinch of dried thyme
  • cracked black pepper

Place the watermelon on the grill and mix all the other ingredients. When the watermelon is grilled, add the cheese and serve. We had it as a starter.

01June_Watermelon

When the chicken was done we ate it with the salsa and BBQ stuffed mushrooms, sweetcorn and the last of the smoked tomatoes. I wish it was BBQ weather more often!

01June_Chicken

Leave a Reply

