Salmon, prawn and veg barbecue and chipotle salted corn on the cob

I love my new barbecue and I will use any excuse to fire it up! It is a charcoal barbecue, I love the smell and the whole process. This of course means that it is not possible on a week night as I am most often not home until 7.30 pm but weekends are perfect! I decided to make a fish, prawn and vegetable barbecue.

It was quite a busy morning I decided to make a herring lunch, well there isn’t much to do but it is so delicious (perhaps it is the Swede in me). I had some Jersey Royal new potatoes that I boiled with dill and it was served with soured cream and chives.

08June_HerringSnack

This particular herring pickling is called Matjes and it is slightly saltier than the others, quite distinct in flavour and served like this I could eat lots of it!

08June_HerringPlated

After lunch we took a nice long walk in the park and the wind seemed to have picked up and it felt like a slight drop in temperature, but not enough to put me off the planned barbecue!

There were quite a few things to be prepared so I did a snack to keep us going.

Avocado dip

  • 3 small avocados or 2 large, ripe
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • chopped parsley
  • 1/2 pack of silken tofu
  • a pinch of salt

Place it all in a blender and mix, don’t make it too smooth. Serve with crudites and crisps, add a few toasted seeds for some extra texture.

08June_AvocadoSnack

For the barbecue I started by doing some chipotle salt. I love the smoky flavour.

08June_ChipotleSalt

I did a mix of feta cheese creme and stuffed some mushrooms and zucchini. I had pre boiled some of the Jersey royal new potatoes for 15 minutes before and I halved them and brushed them with some oil with salt and pepper.

I put some prawns on a toothpick, 3 on each and I then did small kebabs (also on a toothpick) with pepper, celery, a cocktail tomato and spring onion and brushed them with some salt and pepper oil before setting aside.

I pre cooked sweetcorn for 6 minutes and for them I mixed oil with the chipotle salt before putting on the grill and the smoky heat from the chipotle and the sweetness from the sweetcorn was a great combo!

I did a version of  chimichurri to go with the salmon with parsley, roast garlic, 2 de seeded chillies, good olive oil and salt. It all cooked in pretty much the same time, I added the prawns last so they just got cooked through. It was a hands on meal, served with only some light soured cream on the side.

08June_SalmonBBQ

It wasn’t warm enough to eat outside but it tasted like a proper summer barbecue! We ate just about all of it and we are looking forward to many more barbecues this summer! The wine shop down the road had a bit of a sale so I have stocked up on quite a few bottles of delicious Malbec rose wine so I feel ready for a long, hot summer!

Comments
2 Responses to “Salmon, prawn and veg barbecue and chipotle salted corn on the cob”
  1. nazima says:

    what a lovely meal. we are about to buy a barbecue and cannot wait to make lovely stuff like this!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nazima
      I love the BBQ and am so happy we have a new one, miles better than the old one! It really does taste like summer, doesn’t it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

