Truffled Mac&Cheese with crispy parma ham

Sometimes I get so hungry before lunch I end up eating my lunch at 11.30 am. Sometimes I get a snack for the afternoon but usually it is a cup of coffee and/or tea or water for the rest of the day. Today was one of those but I decided to stay a little later so on my way home I all of the sudden realized that I was absolutely starving. I didn’t feel like getting a take away or go out so I needed something that was quick. I always have pasta at home and I picked up a pint of milk and some parma ham, anything that would cook quickly!

When I went to the Foodies festival I came across The Truffle Hunter stand. They had a very interesting jar with truffle carpaccio that I just had to buy.

12June_Truffle

I felt that today was a great day to open it. After some lovely summer weather last week it is now cold and rainy again, a day for luxurious comfort food!

Truffled Mac&Cheese with crispy Parma ham, serves 2

  • 3 dl macaroni 
  • 1½ dl frozen green peas
  • 1 pint of semi skimmed milk
  • 4 tsp arrow root
  • ½ tsp of truffle carpaccio
  • 1 pack of parma ham
  • 2 tbsp Philadelphia light
  • salt & white pepper

Boil the water and put the frozen peas in a colander. Boil the macaroni. Bring the milk to boil, mix some cold milk with the arrow root and add to the milk, when it starts to thicken add salt and pepper to taste. Add the cheese and the truffle, put a lid on and set aside. Drain the pasta over the peas and mix with the sauce.

Heat a pan and crisp up the Parma ham and once this is done serve. The peas added freshness and had I not been in such a hurry I would have given it a sprinkle of chopped parsley as well but there was no time!

12June_Mac&CheeseDish

Dinner was ready in just under 20 minutes  and it was so lovely to tuck in and all the flavors worked so well together I will do it again.

Leave a Reply

