Italian fennel sausage and vegetable stew

Somehow I thought today (Thursday) was Friday, perhaps I am just ready for the weekend! So as a small treat at the end of the day I had a meeting in town and I decided to do a little shopping round on the way home. There are a few places that I am always happy to have time to go past. This time I stopped at I Camisa & Son, a lovely, and perhaps one of the best, Italian deli’s in London. It is a family run, authentic Italian delicatessen  and it has been on Old Compton street for many years! The shop has a wonderful atmosphere and the smells are so tempting.

I picked up some parma ham and bresaola for an antipasto starter as well as some burrata, I am in love with this cheese and it is my treat for the weekend! I bought were some fennel sausages, I bought four, two each for dinner. The sausages are meaty and full of flavour, perfect for a stew! I wanted something quite light after a couple of days of a bit too heavy foods.

Once home I went though my vegetable box and from that I got quite a few interesting and very useful ingredients, it was a bit of a left over dinner. I had lots of tomatoes that for some reason had not been eaten so I decided to use them as well. If you want the sausages to be dinner for four add more vegetables and either more potatoes or pasta.

Italian fennel sausage stew, serves 2

  • 4 sausages, use sausages you like but make sure they are good quality
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • 3 quite small potatoes, cubed
  • 1 carrot, cubed
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 5 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 handful of spinach leaves, roughly sliced
  • 1/2 courgette, cubed
  • 2 spring onions, sliced
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • pepper
  • paprika powder
  • oil for cooking

Heat the oil in a frying pan whilst chopping the vegetables.

When the oil is hot cut the sausage casing open and squeeze out the meat in small bits, let all the sausage meat brown. When it is just cooked through add the carrot, potato, onion, celery and garlic and let it brown slightly before placing in a pan with a lid.

20June_FryingSausage

Add the chopped tomatoes

20June_ChoppedTomato

Add the soy sauce and some of the spices. Add more later to taste and save the courgette, spinach and spring onion for later. Let simmer for 10 minutes, the add the remaining ingredients, add more spices if necessary and let simmer for another 10 minutes.

Whilst that is simmering I filleted a grapefruit and quartered some radishes. I plated up bresaola and parma ham, added the grapefruit and the radishes. I added some pepper, salt and good olive oil and served. Grapefruit and bresaola is a very nice combination with the soft and flavourful meat and then tangy grapefruit.

20June_Antipasto

When we had eaten the starter the stew was ready. I didn’t make anything else to go with it was all cooked together. It was a simple and quite light meal, the fennel sausage really has a lovely fennel taste that goes with the vegetables.

20June_SausageStew

It is perfect week night food and even better eaten outside as it was a warm summer evening.

Comments
2 Responses to “Italian fennel sausage and vegetable stew”
    • petra08 says:

      thank you 🙂 It was so light and fresh and that Italian sausage is the best! Wish I had bought more of it!

Leave a Reply

