A foodie walk through Taste of London

I finally got myself some tickets to Taste of London on it’s 10th year! I know I should have gone sooner but I am usually away but there was no stopping me this year.

The first thing, after speaking to some fellow foodie friends was to make a strategy. I did some research and identified a few “must eats” and I did arrive hungry, this was a great idea! There is so much delicious foods everywhere, I even managed to spot some famous chefs walking around, sampling the foods! For anyone interested in eating well, this if the place to come. There is so much on offer I am quite sure there is something for everyone! Here are some pictures, it was a great evening!

A walk thought Taste of Thailand show cased the variety of foods but the most eye catching was a man carving a melon.

21June_MelonCarver

It was the most amazing and intricate carving I have ever seen! I was so impressed!

21June_CarvedWatermelon

I found some Thai wines and the dry Chening Blac was very nice indeed.

21June_ThaiWine

I liked all the foods but the slider made from Iberico pork was everything a burger is about! Cooked to perfection, full of flavor and so juicy! Bought from the Opera Tavern.

21June_IbericoPorkSlider

After this we went to one of my absolute favorite restaurants, Bar Boloud and had a pulled pork slider and a pork and cheddar hot dog, delicious.  Unfortunately we ate the hot dog before any pictures were taken! It has to be a compliment to the hot dog!

21June_PulledPork

There was plenty to buy.

Protein bread

21June_ProteinBread

Tempting and innovative marshmallows

21June_Marshmallows

We had an utterly delicious and super tender lamb chop from Roka. I wish all my barbecues could taste like this!

21June_LambChop

From Roka we also shared a couple of Gindara to kani no gyoza, black cod, crab and crayfish dumplings. They were sublime.

21June_Dumpling

This looked delicious, also from Roka, teriaki sake no salada, salmon teriyaki and grilled vegetable salad with a citrus and miso dressing.

21June_SalmonTeryaki

Club Gascon had by far the most indulgent burger around, toasted bun with seared foie gras and truffle! What is there not to love?

21June_FoiegrasBurger

They also had this interesting looking dish, pine smoked lovehearts and oyster pearls

21June_OysterPearls

I have a very large weakness for pork belly, when walking past Savoy grill my eye spied charcoal grilled pork belly and I knew I had to get some. The flavor had the wonderful charcoal  smokiness and it was melt in your mouth good.

21JunePorkBelly

The other day someone mentioned a vodka that came in a bottle shaped like a skull and all of the sudden I found myself looking at the very same vodka! The bottle comes in the shape of a skull, very eye catching and the vodka inside is quadruple distilled and filtered through Herkimer diamonds. I am not quite sure what the diamonds do but the bottle looks cool!

21June_CrystalSkullVodka

I walked past the biggest truffle I have ever seen! I just had to stop and take a picture! Imagine all the truffled foods I could have done with that!

21June_Truffle

After a good three and a half hours we were ready to leave, with 10 crowns left it was just enough for a stop at Kaspar’s and a lobster and avocado cocktail, and just as I had placed my order and paid I spotted the salmon sausage and it looked amazing. There was no room left for anything else but another drink and after that it was time to head home.

21June_Lobster&Avocado

I am glad I had a look beforehand, even if the portions are small there are so many delicious thing to choose from. We were lucky with the weather, it was warm and such a nice way to spend a Friday evening.

Comments
9 Responses to “A foodie walk through Taste of London”
  1. I had the pork belly from the Savoy Grill stand too. It was absolutely delicious!

    Take a look at what else I got up to when I was at Taste of London yesterday here: http://chillimarmalade.com/2013/06/22/taste-of-london-2013/

    • petra08 says:

      hi Emily

      Thanks for stopping by!
      I went yesterday as well! The Iberico pork burger was amazing and I wish my pork belly tasted like the one from the Savoy Grill! Great event wasn’t it? did you buy anything?

      • Yeah, I came away with some White Truffle Sauce from San Pietro a Pettine and a couple of bottles of olive oil from Danilo Manco. The only complaint I have is lack of seating ANYWHERE. Would have been lovely to sit and enjoy a glass of bubbly at the end of the day…

  2. reijosfood says:

    A week ago in Finland – Taste of Helsinki

  3. Woah looks like Taste of London is much more palatable than Taste of Amsterdam. That watermelon is amazing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Francesca
      It was amazing, I have to admit I could not have a taste of everything I wanted to and it was so big as well! The watermelon was so fantastic, I would never even get the idea! 🙂 I did see some of the things I tried on the menus so might have to try some of the restaurants now as well!

Leave a Reply

