Step by step guide to cooking lamb crackling

I had quite  a few questions asking me how to cook lamb crackling. I have cooked it before and published a vague description so on request here is a step by step guide how to do it . It takes a little time but not much work and the flavours are quite incredible! You need to start the day before as it needs to cure for 24 hours and then cook for about 3½ hours but mostly it is sorting itself.

For 2 I got one breast, or also called belly of lamb. If you buy it from the butcher ask him to remove the bone.

Bay Leaf cure 

  • 6 fresh bayleaves 
  • 1 dl sugar
  • 1 dl salt

20June_CuringMix

Chop the bayleafes and mix with the sugar and salt. I used demerara sugar and seasalt. Fresh bay leaves have a milder taste than dried ones if you are replacing the fresh ones. Cut the breast of lamb in to four. In a plastic bag place some of the cure mix, add the lamb mixed with the cure, remove as much air as possible, close the bag and place a weight on top. Let it cure for 24 hours in the fridge and turn after half time.

When it is cured the salt will have drawn the moisture out.

30June_CuredLambBelly

Put the oven on 120 C and rinse the belly of lamb, pat dry and place on an oven proof tray. Leave to cook for 3 ½ hours.

30June_LambBellyToCook

It will look like this when it comes out.

30June_CookedLambBelly

Let is cool slightly, remove the meat and “pull” it. Whilst doing it turn the oven up to 225C.

30June_PulledLamb

Cut the skin in to strips and place back in the oven proof tray. Place the tray back in the oven and let the skin crisp up to crackling. When done drain the crackling on some household tissue before plating up.

30June_LambCrackling

I did lettuce wraps with apple and carrot slaw and pulled lamb as a starter, the meat has so much flavour you don’t need a lot of it.

30June_PulledLambWraps

Breast of lamb is a cheap cut but if you give it some TLC it can be so utterly delicious.

 

I am bringing something I cooked a while back again to Fiesta Friday but I really want to join the party and lamb crackling is a perfect sharing dish! The kitchen should be done by end of next week and I can’t wait to get cookin’!

Fiesta Friday is a brilliant foodie party, there is no end to the deliciousness and creativity so join us and get inspired or just have a browse, it will guaranteed leave you hungry!

Angie is the brilliant founder, chef, blogger and creator of this delicious party, her blog is beautiful so have a look here!

This week she is co hosting together with two very talented foodies, cooks, chefs, delicious innovators! Elaine, the host of the blog FoodBod and the lovely Julianna, host of the blog FoodieOnBoard! If you haven’t seen their blogs have a look and it will have you drooling ever so slightly and feeling starving!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors always inspiring Made With Love Mondays!

MadeWithLove

Comments
38 Responses to “Step by step guide to cooking lamb crackling”
  1. This sound fantastic, Petra! I love the look of the crispy lamb – it really does look like bacon, but I’m sure it tastes even more unique since its lamb… Wonderful tutorial!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Mark

      I am glad you like it 🙂 It has so much flavor and it is the most amazingly cheap cut as well!

  2. Love the sound of this, much more unusual than the usual pork crackling.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      Am glad you like it, it is delicious, a bit of a guilty pleasure as it is so rich but it is so nice and the meat is to die for!

  3. sarahgiebens says:

    It looks great! I love lamb so I’m sure I’ll love this too 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you Sarah 🙂

      It is super easy, it just needs a little pre planning and my American friend said “it tastes just like bacon but like lamb” in his own what that was a compliment, well worth doing 🙂

  4. Hi Petra, what a wonderful dish to bring to the party, I’m sure it will be VERY popular!! There’ll be lots of crunching going on!! Thank you for joining this weeks Fiesta Friday, I hope you enjoy the party 🙂

  5. Ngan R. says:

    Oh my, Petra, bringing your A game as always to the party! This lamb crackling looks perfect for your lettuce cups, and I bet they would go great in rolls, too!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ngan

      thank you! Yes I am sure it would be great in rolls, I need to buy more I think, I can’t wait for the kitchen to be all done and I can start cooking seriously again! 🙂

  6. Wonderful use of a neglected cut of meat – brava Petra! I will definitely remember this the next time I am at the butchers. Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Selma

      I love to use odd cuts and this just came out better than expected! I even gave the recipe to the butcher 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday 🙂

  7. Oh my goodness… I’m honestly and truly impressed with this, Petra! It looks so delicious… It looks like such a great weekend project!! I went through all of your photos a couple of times, just saying “Yummy yummy yummy” before I even went back to read what you had to say about such a yummy crackling!! Wonderful post!! ❤ I"m definitely going to try this. I really hope that our butcher will do this for me.

    • petra08 says:

      Hello Prudy
      Thank you 🙂 I am so glad you like it! It is super easy to do and tastes so good! Let me know how it goes! 🙂 x

  8. Mr Fitz says:

    OH MY!!! JEEZ!!! YOU have me here!! I HAVE to make this… how wonderful!! What an excellent post! you just made my morning! Thanks!

    • petra08 says:

      hello Mr Fitz
      I am so glad I could make your morning! I hope you will like it as much as I do! Let me know how it goes 🙂

  9. A Home Cook says:

    Lamb crackling: what a good idea. I grew up in the wheat-sheep belt and never thought to try it. Thank you so much for bringing it to FF.

    • petra08 says:

      Hello 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!
      The lamb belly/breast is a lovely part with tons of flavor and this way it gets a nice crunch as well!

  10. Mr Fitz says:

    I am making this as ii write!! thanks!

  11. Sinfully Tempting says:

    Oh my goodness, Petra…yum! I can’t get over how great this sounds. What a perfect addition to Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jeanette
      Thank you, so glad you like it 🙂 It is one of my favorite foods! It is so rich I can’t make it very often but it is oh so yummy!

  12. saucygander says:

    Oh, wow, yes please, there can never be too much lamb crackling!

  13. chefjulianna says:

    Hi Petra! This is brilliant! As always you bring something unique and mouth watering! I think the crowd will go mad for your dish! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Julianna

      Thank you for your lovely comment 🙂 Lamb crackling is delicious and the pulled meat great! And it is quite easy to make, all you need is a bit of patience! 🙂 x

  14. I’m late to see this post but it looks delicious! Lamb breast is so overlooked, it’s actually difficult to find here. I need to make this one.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz

      Lamb breast is delicious, it is full of tender meat and flavour, a little patience and love makes for delicious dishes! I always buy it when I see it as it isn’t that easy to find but always worth asking the butcher if you have one! 🙂 Let me know how it goes!

  15. Awsome — I hadn’t even considered that lamb would make cracklings, but that looks delish! I’m going to have to get some more lamb breast — a couple years ago I got a half a lamb from a local farmer, and I cannot recall how I prepped that part of the animal!

    • petra08 says:

      Breast of lamb is delicious 🙂 And even better as crackling! It is very similar to bacon but with a lamb flavour! If you have a butcher nearby they should be able to sell you thre breast. I do love it stuffed and slow cooked as well 🙂 I hope you can find some and will like it! 🙂

  16. Being from the rural deep south, I had a much different idea of “Cracklin” This sounds great! 😀

  17. Nadia says:

    Thanks for stopping by and joining my blog. Bienvenue!

  18. Oh wow – just reading this after marinating some lamb ribs for my Sunday roast treat – I didn’t realise you could make lamb crackling! Looking forwards to following your blog Petra…….

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] also has some great instructions on how to cook lamb crackling.  Now this I am positively going to try as an […]



Leave a Reply

