The allotment in pictures and sliced pork belly snack

We got our allotment by pure luck. Having only a patio garden we really wanted a vegetable patch and we met someone who could offer us an allotment straight away! They had a severely overgrown allotment that required a lot of work. This was four years ago now and a lot of work later it now looks quite amazing and I have to admit that besides some digging I didn’t do the hard work!

This is from just before the heatwave started and things have come along amazingly since then but I still wanted to share this!

I took some pictures, as I have mentioned before everything is a bit late this year but I could not resist bringing the camera to take some pictures.

The spinach is so good but will soon go in to bloom.

16June_Spinach

I picked a few wild strawberries, there is never enough to make something of them so we just pick and eat them, that works as well!

16June_WildStrawberry

It is a great year for the broad beans

16June_BroadBeans

The artichokes looks strong and are plentiful16June_Artichoke

The bees love the chive flowers

16June_Chiveflower&Bees

Last year we got virtually no mint and I thought it was lost but it is back!

16June_Mint

I can’t wait for the potatoes, I can see flower buds at last

16June_PotatoPlant

Our allotment neighbours grows beautiful Iris

16June_IrisFlowers

The beetroots are looking great, I have a nice stash of pickling jars ready to be used.

16June_BeetrootPlants

Last year the blueberries looked so promising but just before they ripened they all fell off, I hope this year will be better.

16June_BlueberryPlant

The poppies grows everywhere when not controlled, they are so beautiful with their vibrant red.

16June_Poppy

The bayleaf plant is slowly growing stronger and it is now full of new leaves.

16June_BayleafPlant

I found some beautiful, what I think are called corn flowers, in Sweden we call them blåklint, and they always bloom around midsummer.

16June_CornFlower

I picked some rhubarb, we had some pork belly left over from the weekend and I wanted some rhubarb vinaigrette (recipe here) to go with it and to cut through the rich meat. It was a marriage made in heaven and I just wish I had made more!

16June_SlicedPorkBelly

Leave a Reply

