Fennel sausage stuffed chicken thighs with salt baked potato and beetroots

I haven’t eaten a lot of meat lately, and I had an order for chicken for dinner. I could have done a whole roast chicken but fennel sausage at Robson’s the butcher caught my eye. I have never seen fennel sausage there before, but saying that I could have been blind. Either way I love the flavour, it is mild yet very distinct. They had some very plump looking boned and skinned chicken thighs and their bacon is always good! In the end I bought all three meats and happily headed home to get started.

Fennel sausage stuffed chicken thighs

Preperation time 15 minutes

Cooking time 25 minutes

Oven 175C or about 350F

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • chicken thighs, 2 pp (I bought 8)
  • 1 bacon rash per chicken thigh
  • 2 fennel sausages
  • chopped parsley
  • 3.5 dl chicken stock
  • 2 tbsp tomato sauce or salsa
  • 1 tbsp low fat creme fraiche
  • 2 tbsp fruity vinegar
  • salt & pepper

Rinse the chicken thighs and pat dry. Salt and pepper on the inside. Sprinkle with chopped parsley and add sausage meat, 1 sausage is enough for 4 chicken thighs. Wrap a rash of bacon around and string it up to make sure the filling stays inside the roll.

Pan fry the chicken rolls to make sure they are browned all around. Add chicken stock and tomato sauce with some more chopped parsley and place in the oven for 25 minutes.

03Aug_BrownedChicken

I baked some new potatoes and beetroots on salt to have with it. I also had some broccoli that I steamed with chilli. I then added a pinch of sea salt, fruity vinegar and last I added a drizzle of olive oil.

03Aug_Broccoli

When the chicken was cooked I removed the chicken and boiled the sauce down for a few minutes. Last I added the creme fraiche, the vinegar and a twist of pepper before serving.

03Aug_StuffedChickenDinner

I like the difference in texture from each meat, the soft sausage meat, the tender chicken and the lovely bacon. I have never stuffed chicken thighs before but I will do it again. They have so much flavour and they are cheaper than the breast and works just as well.  It was a simple but very nice dinner full of flavour and different textures and it made the house smell lovely whilst cooking!

 

I have entered this to Javelin Warriors always great challenge Made with Love Mondays 

MadeWithLove

Comments
8 Responses to “Fennel sausage stuffed chicken thighs with salt baked potato and beetroots”
  1. I love fennel sausage, Petra! I always feel that fennel is what makes sausage so tasty… And stuffing the chicken with the sausage sounds amazing. I’m sure it was so tasty, along with the salt baked potatoes and beets… Such a tasty meal!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark
      Thank you, it worked very well and the fennel sausage was great with the chicken and it made a great sauce to go with the meal as well. 🙂

  2. What a great idea to use the fennel sausages! I love fennel and chicken together so this meal is right up my street!

    • petra08 says:

      I love fennel sausages, not sure why and was so excited when I found them at my local butcher! It was so nice with the chicken and bacon makes everything taste better 🙂 Glad you like it!

  3. sebbyholmes says:

    This looks great Petra – can always rely on you to make me hungry. I made a similar dish to this a few years ago in my last kitchen. A little tip to retain the moisture in the chicken and add a sly hint of fennel without the sausage if you ever have a bit more time is to brine the chicken in water, vinegar, salt, whole pink peppercorns, fennel seeds and a roughly chopped bulb of fennel. Brine overnight then dry and cook with how you wish. The salt and vinegar causes the outside of the flesh to tighten and once removed from the brine holds all that moisture and flavour within the meat throughout the cooking process. Thanks for the recipe and great photos.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sebby

      Thanks, I am glad you like it! I love to brine chicken and your version sounds very interesting, I have never tried brining with pink peppercorns but will for sure 🙂 A great tip

  4. Francesca says:

    delicious and indulgent. I’m into it!

Leave a Reply

