Healthy cottage cheese, kale and anchovy “pizza” with homemade tomato sauce

There are so many vegetables at the allotment at the moment and I want to eat as much as possible. For a snack I decided to make a tortilla “pizza”, I think tortillas are the perfect “fast to make” pizza, I had the smaller ones and one is a perfect snack or light bite size.

I decided to make a tomato sauce to go with the pizza. I used tinned tomato and it cooked in 20 minutes. I could have cooked it for a bit longer but I didn’t have the time.

Pizza sauce

Preparation time: 5 minutes

Cooking time 20 minutes

Serves 4 – 6 pizzas

Ingredients

  • 1 tin of tomatoes 
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 piece of leek
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1 tsp of honey
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • salt & pepper to taste

Place the tomatoes in a pan and start to heat. Chop the onion and the leek fine, crush the garlic and add to the tomatoes. Add honey and soy sauce and taste with salt and pepper.

Cottage cheese and kale pizza 

Preparation time 5 minutes 

Cooking time 10-15 minutes 

Oven 200C, or 400 F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 tortillas, I used low fat 
  • tomato sauce to spread on the tortillas
  • kale, pre steamed
  • 4 tbsp cottage cheese
  • 6 anchovy fillets
  • a few tomberries
  • cheese for grating
  • Chopped parsley
  • black pepper

Chop the parsley. Spread the tomato sauce (home made or what you have at hand, ready made salsa works as well!) on to the tortillas. Then add the toppings, starting with the cottage cheese, the kale, the anchovy fillets, some chopped parsley and the tomberries.  Last grate some cheese over before baking. I used Jarlsberg cheese as I love the flavour but any cheese you like works.

Chopped parsley 02Aug_Parsely

Yellow tomberries 02Aug_Tomberries

Tortilla with tomato sauce  02Aug_PizzaBase

Tortilla with the toppings, before the cheese 02Aug_DressedPizza

As I had the cottage cheese on the pizza I didn’t use a lot of the full fat cheese and before serving I added a little more parsley and gave it a twist of black  pepper. I served the remaining tomato sauce on the side.

02Aug_FlatbreadPizza

I might actually prefer kale to spinach on pizza but I could be biased towards our allotment kale! The tomato sauce didn’t take long to make and it was well worth making.

Leave a Reply

