Butternut squash frittata

As I was on my way home from a meeting in town, being squished against half the bin on the train, standing next to someone who had had a drink too many, I could not tell if it was yesterday or today, it had that sort of ingrained smell, with my head under a mans arm as he was reaching above my head for the railing and next to two chatty ladies who were talking about a friends love life, names, where they live, the drama, planned holidays an well, I felt like it was over sharing. Needless to say it was time to zoom out, I upped the volume and concentrated about dinner and after some thinking I felt like frittata.

The other day we picked the first butternut squash of the year from the allotment and it would be great in a frittata. I used what I had in my fridge to make the rest of dinner.

Frittata

Preperation time 10 minutes

Cooking time 40 minutes

Oven 175C or 350F

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup low fat cream or milk
  • 4 slices of 1 cm or 0.4 inch butternut squash
  • a bunch of parsley
  • 1 small handful of shelled broad beans
  • 1/4 pack paneer cheese
  • 2 cloves of crushed garlic
  • 1 1/2 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • cayenne pepper
  • white ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • salt

Start the oven and begin preparing the ingredients. Mix the eggs and the cream or milk. Cube the butternut squash and the paneer cheese. Chop the parsley and add all the ingredients to the egg mix.

When I had done this I realised I did not have a frittata pan so I took a silicone baking mould and it worked just as well and gave it a nice shape. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes.

I had a small and beautiful squash/pumpkin and I cut the top of, scoop the seeds out and bake with the frittata.

22Aug_MiniPumpkin

Whilst that was cooking I did a salad with what I found in the fridge.

  • Bok choy
  • 1 spring onion
  • 8 mange tout
  • 1 ripe nectarine
  • 1 heritage beetroot
  • 4 yellow cherry tomatoes

I chopped the veg except the beetroot that I sliced raw, it was delicious. I mixed it and made a dressing.

Dressing

  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 tbsp vinegar, I used fruit flavoured vinegar
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • salt
  • add a dash of honey if it is too harsh

22Aug_Dressing

The flavoured vinegar made it look pretty.

The frittata came out of the oven just as I had imagined it on that crowded train home!

22Aug_Frittata

It sliced beautifully

22Aug_SlicedFrittata

Mix the salad with the dressing.

22Aug_Salad

I had my steak still left over from the other night so I cooked that as well but the frittata and the salad would have been more than enough for dinner.

22Aug_FrittataDinner

I have added this to Javelin Warriors always challenging Made With Love Mondays and Karen who is the author of the great blog Lavender and Lovage, challenge Cooking with Herbs.

MadeWithLove

CookingWithHerbs

Comments
5 Responses to “Butternut squash frittata”
  1. What a delicious frittata, Petra! I love the use of the butternut squash – I’ve never used it with eggs before and I’m so intrigued. I’d imagine the sweet yet peppery flavor of the squash would compliment the eggs and other ingredients well…

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark

      glad you like it! 🙂 It was a very soft dish but truly comforting and butternut squash worked so well 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    A FABULOUS recipe and perfect for late summer too Petra! Karen

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] me why), so just to please her I have found this recipe from English Lady Petra at Food Eat Love ~ butternut squash frittata.  I guess I could make it for my friend in […]



Leave a Reply

