Feeding my cold with a steak

I woke up one morning with an annoyingly sore throat. It wasn’t worse than that I could ignore it and by the afternoon I was already feeling better. I thought perhaps it was part of too much laughing and coffee tequila the night before. Tuesday it was back with a vengeance and I felt myself feel worse and worse throughout the day and I finally left the relentless office aircon an hour early to crawl in to bed. Lucky for me I pass the butcher on my way home and I decided to pop in and get some steak, thinking perhaps the extra iron would help.

I got a beautiful rib eye steak, it looked thick and juice and had my name written all over it! Just in case I got a spare one but I have to say I ended up saving it for another day. I felt too tired to cook anything else so whilst the steak was frying in the pan I mixed low fat margarine with chopped parsley

I love the flavour but it also has a lot of iron. I wanted to add some garlic but an important meeting the following day stopped me and I chopped an onion instead. There was just enough butter to bind the ingredients and to add the buttery taste.

I added salt and pepper to the steak and then pan fried it in a table spoon of oil until nicely caramelized and medium cooked through. I loaded up the parsley and onion butter and let that melt whilst frying an egg and chopping up some tomatoes.

20Aug_Steak

That was my whole dinner, I could of course not have eaten another steak but it was delicious.

20Aug_Steak&Egg

I went to bed and when I woke up it seemed that the worst of the cold was gone and I think perhaps feeding my cold with a steak could only be a good thing! I will try it again next time, for research purposes of course!

Comments
2 Responses to “Feeding my cold with a steak”
  1. westwordrose says:

    Looks great. Everything is better with a fried egg on top! Hope you are feeling better and having a nice weekend.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Rosemarie thank you! I got better and then lost my voice, the second day of strange silence but getting better!
      I hope you are having a great weekend and you are absolutely right about an egg on top! 🙂

Leave a Reply

