Salmon, tiger prawn and samphire broth

When by the sea I always want to eat seafood. After our gorgeous lunch at Victuals & Co I knew I wanted to make a light seafood broth for dinner. I didn’t have time to make stock so I used the last of the chicken stock I had in the freezer made previously. It adds a slight meatiness and to match this I bought salmon and tiger prawns, full of flavor on their own and great with the chicken stock.

They had some cockles, I had never cooked with them before so I had to get some, just to try. They also had some delicious, and locally picked samphire, an edible seaweed, just delicious. I had brought a cool bag to get the fish home. I got some ice to put in it at the shop when I bought the fish and if you are ever in doubt this is a great solution!

Seafood broth

Preparation time 20 minutes 

Cooking time 30 minutes 

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 piece of salmon 
  • 8 raw tiger prawns
  • a small handful of cockles
  • 1 small beetroot
  • 1 carrot
  • 3 leaves of curly kale
  • 1 corn on the cob
  • 1 tsp of grated ginger
  • samphire
  • 1 red chilli
  • 800 ml chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp mirin
  • lemon thyme

I only had chicken stock so I use it and it worked with the fish as it was mild in flavor. Bring the stock to the boil. Cut the corn off the cob and add the to stock. Add the chilli to the broth to infuse, keep it whole but make a cut through the middle. Remove the core from the curly kale and slice it, cut the beetroot julienne and slice the carrot. This year we are growing beautiful heritage carrots and they are amazing in color. Sort of purple on the outside and bright yellow on the inside!

23Aug_Veg

After 5 minutes add the kale, the ginger and the carrot and let simmer for another 5 minutes. Taste to make sure the flavors are right. Be very careful with salt as the samphire can be quite salty in flavor. Remove the chilli.

Cube the salmon, peel and de-vein the tiger prawns and remove the toughest stems from the samphire.

23Aug_Seafood

Turn the heat off and add the beetroot,  salmon, the tiger prawns, the cockels and the samphire. Put the lid on and let stand for 20 minutes and then it is ready to serve!

23Aug_SeafoodBroth

I meant to add noodles but it wasn’t necessary. It was light and very healthy, no added fat and all flavor!

Leave a Reply

