Spatchcock smoked chicken

I wanted to try and spatchcock a chicken. I had never done it before and I did some research how to do it. I found a lot of different versions and in the end I felt ready. I bought a lovely label Anglais chicken from Robsons’ the butcher. I wanted to make a rub and I also knew that I wanted to smoke it. My neighbor (thank you!) gave me her bay leaf trimmings so I mixed hickory wood with dried bayleaves for the smoke. last time I used too few bayleaves but it was perfect this time and they gave a wonderful flavor addition.

spatchcocked the chicken, rinsed it again, patted it dry and did the spice rub.

Rub for the chicken 

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp molasses 
  • 1/2 cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Mix all the ingredients and rub it on to the chicken.

Start the barbecue, soak the hickory wood and the bayleaves. When the barbecue is ready place the soaked wood and bayleaves in the smoker unit and add this to the barbecue and start cooking.

Peel potatoes and a beetroot, put it on tin foil and add extra virgin olive oil and sea salt. Don’t seal it and place it on the barbecue. Put the lid on and let cook for 15 minutes before adding the chicken.

Cook and keep the heat to around 150C or 300F and then add more heat towards the end. I cooked the chicken skin side down for the majority of the time to get it crispy as it was cooked on quite low heat. Let cook for 35-40 minutes. I added some sausages on the grill as well.

Whilst that was cooking I made a salad, the tomatoes are finally getting ripe so I did a tomato and beetroot salad to go with the barbecue.

01Sept_BeetSalad

The chicken, the potatoes and the golden beetroot was done at the same time. I had done a stock from the backbone of the chicken and flavored this with lemon and chilli, last minute I added a little arrow root to thicken the stock and a tsp of creme fraiche.

Potatoes and golden beetroot01Sept_Potato&Beets

Chicken and sausages 01Sept_spatchcockChicken

The smoking made the chicken very moist and it was delicious. I will use more hot sauce next time but it worked very well. After letting the chicken rest, I cut it up and we tucked in to the pieces. A wasp was trying to get in on the action but after having been persistently shooed away it finally left and we stayed out and enjoyed another glass of wine al fresco.

Comments
4 Responses to “Spatchcock smoked chicken”
  1. I’ve always wanted to try it too, this looks so good.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      I looked at so many online videos before I plucked up the courage but it was quite easy, saying that I am sure a pro would wrinkle their nose at my final result! 🙂

  2. Sally says:

    Wine, chicken, potatoes, those amazing sausages all al fresco. Divine.

Leave a Reply

