Apple and chilli stuffed pork with roast, spiced butternut squash

Everywhere I look this year I see apple trees so full of apples it is amazing. Still I can’t quite comprehend why there are so many apples from abroad for sales in the shops, I am sure eating British apples must be better for both us and the environment. With this in mind I got a little carried away when I found some gorgeous looking English apples in the shop and bought quite a big bunch. I have been munching my way through lots of them but I also wanted to cook something that would show off the apple. After some thinking I decided to make apple and chilli stuffed pork tenderloin with roast butternut squash. We don’t have as many butternut squashes that we get some years on the allotment but this year they are bigger and taste wonderful. One seems to last us quite a while! I love them roasted and I try new combinations of spices every time.

Roast butternut squash

Preparation time 5 minutes

Cooking time 40 minutes

Oven 200C or 390F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 butternut squash
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 3 tbsp rapeseed or vegetable oil
  • salt & pepper

Peel, de seed and cut the butternut squash. Mix all the ingredients to the spice mixture and make sure the butternut squash is coated. Place on a tray and bake for 40 minutes.  It is done when the butternut is soft and it is slightly browned.

13Sept_ButternutSquash

Whilst that is baking start on the apple stuffed pork. I could not decide what chilli to use, chipotle, dried, fresh… In the end I decided to use the hot sauce here as well and it worked beautifully. I went for a clean tasting quite mainstream cider. 13Sept_Cidre

Apple and chilli stuffed pork tenderloin

Preparation time 10 minutes

Cooking time 25 minutes

Oven 200C or 390F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 2 tbsp hot sauce
  • kale leaves
  • 1 apple
  • 1/4 savoy cabbage
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bottle of apple cidre
  • salt & pepper

Trim the pork tenderloin and then cut this open. I bashed it a little to make it even flatter. You can also ask your butcher to do this for you if buying from one. I smeared each piece of pork with the hot sauce. I peeled the apple and cut it in to fairly chunky sticks, I added a kale leaf and apple and then rolled it and tied it up.   13Sept_Pork-w-stuffing

I pan fried it to brown it all around and let it rest.

13Sept_PanFriedPork

I quickly rinsed and chopped the cabbage and onion and added to the pan and let colour gently. Then add the cidre, the tomatoes and the meat back and place in the oven for 15-20 minutes.  Time it with the butternut squash and it is all ready at the same time.

Let the meat rest for 5 minutes, if you want to you can thicken the sauce with corn starch or butter. I served it the way it was and it was delicious.

13Sept_StuffedPork

I sliced the pork tenderloin, the kale made it look great and it added that extra taste, the hot sauce made the flavours richer and it was delicious.

13Sept_StuffedPorkMeal

The cidre was great and the apple flavour really came through, especially when it was a bit chunky in the middle of the pork.

Leave a Reply

