The Cotswolds and a lovely farm shop

I love to travel, on holiday especially but sometimes even for work. There is something about getting ready and head off. This weekend we were heading to the beautiful Cotswolds. There is a reason why it is famous and attracts about 38 million visitors/year, it is so quintessentially English with pubs that look so inviting, tea rooms and houses built in the honey coloured stone.

Cotswolds_WoodstockArms

The area is full of history, today Bliss Mill in Chipping Norton, previously a tweed mill has been converted to luxury flats. It was so eye catching we had to stop the car and take a picture!

Cotswold_BlissMill

My friend who lives in the charming historic market town of Stow on the Wold (very picture perfect!) suggested that I should do a stop at Dayleford. She didn’t say anything else but I knew she would not suggest it without it being special and as we pulled in I understood what she meant.  It is a beautiful place, dedicated to food!

Dogs are welcome but have their own area.

Cotswold_DogParking

Inside is a farm shop that has a cheese counter, a butcher, a cheese room and produce that looks like it was picked that morning on the farm. The cafe sent out welcoming smells of food and we decided to have a cup of tea and something small to eat. We opted for fresh lemon and ginger tea with local honey, delicious.

To eat we shared two dishes, a welsh rarebit with salad

Cotswold_WelshRarebit

and a burrata and heritage tomato salad

Cotswold_Burrata&Tomatoes

I love burrata and it was delicious with their seeded, crusty bread. They are open for dinner at night and if I lived closer I would love to go there for dinner.

We were on our way for dinner late so no dinner at Dayledford but there was nothing stopping me having a browse around the shop. Their breads caught my eye, especially a fruit bread that looked both savoury and sweet, I had vision of eating it lightly toasted with butter and jam!

Cotswold_Bread

This chocolate biroche did look like it wanted to come home with me but I managed to leave it in the shop secretly wishing that I could bake like that!

Cotswold_ChocolateBrioche

I had to do a stop in the cheese room, filled with aromatic cheeses and I read every single label.

Cotswold_Cheese

In the end I could not resist to buy some Perl Las from the producer Caws Cenarth, a very handsome looking blue cheese. I also bought a beef cheek for Sunday dinner, what a lovely farm shop!

We had a great time looking around the lovely landscape and then a gorgeous dinner with lots of laughter at our friends where we stayed over for the night. My last thought before I fell asleep was how quiet it was and this was my first thought in the morning! There is something calming about the air in the Cotswolds, a place to have a look around, enjoy a stress free cup of tea or a pint in the pub whilst taking in the surroundings.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Cotswolds and a lovely farm shop”
  1. I miss England! Your photos are great, I want to be there eating that delicious looking food – and that cheese looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

