Perl las, a Welsh blue cheese, and Cobb nut salad

Once I was home from the Cotswolds I could not wait to try and make something from the Welsh blue cheese, Perl las that I picked up in the farm shop. It has dark blue veins, is quite a firm blue cheese and has a salty, tangy flavour, strong but not overpowering.

Cotswold_PerlLasBlue

Whilst driving through the Cotswolds I was tempted to stop the car every now and then to forage, it was full of chestnuts (not quite ready yet), elderberries and Cobb nuts. I didn’t pick anything but bought some Cobb nuts to bring home from the shop.

15Sept_CobbNuts

I made a salad using some allotment baby spinach

15Sept_Spinach

I sliced and toasted the Cobb nuts, they kept flying around my kitchen when I shelled them but once you get to the nuts they are sweet and juicy. Toasting them gives them a slight crunch and it enhances the nutty flavor.

Perl las and Cobb nut salad 

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 0 minutes 

Serves 2 (as a starter) 

Ingredients

  • Cobb nuts
  • Perl Las, or any blue cheese
  • baby spinach
  • 1/4 apple
  • truffle honey
  • olive oil

De shell the Cobb nuts, slice and toast in a dry pan. Crumble the cheese. Place the spinach on a plate, julienne the apple in to match stick size and place on a plate. Add the cheese and drizzle over some honey. Sprinkle over the Cobb nuts and some olive oil before serving.

15Sept_CobbNutSalad

The flavours and textures works so well. The sweet truffle with the spinach and the salty cheese and the crunch from the nuts worked so well. I am sure the Perl las and the Cobb nuts can be replaced if not available, I would try a similar blue cheese and cashew nuts would be nice.

Leave a Reply

