Butternut and lamb patties

Sometimes I like to make things up from what I have in the fridge and today I thought I would use up some left over butternut squash dip that I had. The half butternut squash I roasted with the hot sauce quick marinade lent itself to several different meals.

First I took the left over butternut and made a dip. I have made it before but it was even nicer with the slight hotness of the chilli, see recipe here.

This time I used slightly less oil as I had less roasted butternut squash and it turned out firmer than the previous. It didn’t matter and I quite liked it. I ate it with a salad for dinner, it was healthy and light but filling. I was left with some dip and saved it for the next day.

I got some lamb mince for dinner and was left with some extra. It was pan fried with feta cheese and zest of lemon. It wasn’t enough to save for another day so I decided to make some patties as a starter.

Lamb and butternut patties

Preperation time 5 minutes

Cooking time 10 minutes

Serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup butternut dip
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of lamb mince
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • some crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 spring onion, sliced
  • lemon thyme
  • paprika powder
  • ground coriander
  • salt & pepper
  • Oil for pan frying

To garnish

  • lemon wedges

Pan fry the lamb mince, drain the fat of if necessary and add the spices. When it is browned take it off the heat and add lemon zest and crumble the feta cheese. Slice the spring onion and add the lemon thyme to the butternut dip. Add a little flour if the butternut dip is too loose to firm it up and mix it with the cooled mince. Shape the mixture in to small balls, then gently press down the top to shape the patties.

27Sept_Pattie-un-cooked

Make all the patties and then heat a frying pan and oil. Place the patties in the pan and don’t turn them over until they have colour, pan fry on both sides.

27Sept_LambPatties

It was super quick. Squeeze the lemon over before eating them. I found it easier to eat them with my fingers so I served them with a napkin and a wedge of lemon as a delicious snack. It was truly left overs transformed!

 

I have added this to Javelin Warrior’s, the host of the great blog Cooking w/Luv, always challenging challenge Made With Love Mondays, all about cooking from scratch.

 

MadeWithLove

Comments
4 Responses to “Butternut and lamb patties”
  1. This is so creative and easy to make, Petra! Butternut squash is always delicious and I’ve never had it paired with lamb, but it sounds wonderful… Perfect for this time of year!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark

      thank you, it would most likely work with any root vegetable type dip/mash. The lamb was great as it added texture and the spring onion a little crunch and butternut is just so nice 🙂

  2. I love the sound of this, lovely and autumnal.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline

      I have more butternut than we can eat but love it so much I can’t bring myself to waste any of it and this was a great way to use up the last of it. 🙂 (before I start on a new one!)

Leave a Reply

