Chicken with mushrooms and garlic in soured cream

Sometimes I can think of a flavor and want to cook something around that. After a beautiful walk seeing plenty of mushrooms (sadly none that I could identify as edible). I knew I wanted to cook something that reminded me of autumn and mushrooms would be perfect. I had a punnet of button mushrooms in the fridge but I wanted a mixture as they all give different flavors and texture. The shops were closed as this was a Sunday so I had a rummage around in my kitchen cupboards as I was sure I had seen some dried ones. I found an Italian mix of dried mushrooms, typically something I would buy when in an Italian deli and it just looks irresistible! I also found some Chinese mushrooms, mok yee.

29Sept_Mushrooms

Chicken with mushrooms and garlic in soured cream

Preparation time 10 minutes, pre soak the mushrooms for about 20 minutes in warm water

Cooking time 30 minutes 

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 8 chicken thighs, I used boned
  • flour for the chicken
  • spices for the flour, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper
  • mushrooms, I used button mushrooms, a mix of dried mushrooms and Chinese mok yee
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of chicken stock
  • white pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp soured cream
  • a handful of washed spinach
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • a handful of chopped parsley
  • 1/4 tsp of truffle oil

Trim the chicken thighs and cut away all visible fat. Then mix the flour with the spices and dust the chicken. Pan fry the chicken in a hot pan to brown it and then set aside.

Drain the dried, soaked mushrooms but save the liquid. Cut all the “gritty” bits of the mok yee and slice it. Add the button mushrooms to the pan together with the garlic. Let fry until it starts to smell of garlic. Then add the stock, the chicken and the rest of the mushrooms and let simmer for 30 minutes. Taste with salt and pepper if needed.

When it is almost cooked add the soured cream, the parsley and the truffle oil. The truffle oil is only there to enhance the mushroom flavor, start with very little. I would have shaved fresh truffle over the food if I had some but the oil works as well. Last stir in the spinach leaves, put the lid back on and let stand for another couple of minutes, just until the spinach has wilted.

I served it with potato and parsnip mash and green peas.

29Sept_ChickenDinner

The flavors are very homely, nice and rounded and lovely as comfort food. The mushrooms gives it a nice autumnal tweak.

Leave a Reply

