Chestnut powdered hasselbacks potatoes with slow roast lamb

Regardless of the weather I know that winter is approaching when the chestnuts are falling off the trees. I love to forage and chestnuts are so great and fall of the trees in such abundance. This year we were a couple of weeks early but we managed to find enough to pick. I love the flavour of chestnut and I use them for roasting, as stuffing but that is about it.

02Oct_Chestnut

I wanted to do something that would make them last a bit longer and decided to make chestnut powder. I didn’t make it too fine as I wanted it to have texture.

02Oct_ChestnutPowder

J had made a starter and it was time for me to get stuck in to the main course. I had the idea that I wanted to use the chestnut powder on hasselbacks potatoes. I had never done it before and thought the flavours should work well together. The hasselbacks potatoes was invented in 1953 by the Swedish apprentice Leif Elisson who was, at the time working at Hasselbacken in Stockholm.  I am not sure if he knew that he invented a classic. It takes a little work but it is so well worth the effort.

Slow roast shoulder of lamb 

Preparation time 5 minutes 

Cooking time 4-5 hours 

Oven 120C or 250F 

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • ½ shoulder of lamb, on the bone
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 sprig of rosemary
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp paprika powder
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • a good amount of salt and pepper

Make little cuts in the lamb, this is to allow the flavours to penetrate and infuse the meat. Crush the garlic, remove the rosemary from the stalk, chop fine and mix with the spices and the oil and then rub it in to the lamb. Place this in the oven and let cook for 4-5 hours.

After about an hour the kitchen will start to smell of the spices and the lamb as a promise of what is to come.

Chestnut powdered hasselbacks potatoes 

Preparation time 15 minutes 

Cooking time 45 minutes 

Oven 175C or 350F 

Serves – I allowed 2 potatoes/pp and a couple of extras just in case 

Ingredients

  • 8 potatoes
  • chestnut powder (the classic calls for breadcrumbs)
  • butter
  • salt and pepper

Peel the potatoes and slice them almost all the way through, they should stick together at the bottom. Add salt and pepper on top and then add the powdered chestnut. Finally add a small knob of butter on to each one and place whole rosemary sprigs in between and bake in the oven for 45 minutes or until cooked through. I have tried to omit the butter but it is never quite the same. The butter adds it’s magic when it melts down in to the potato that can’t be replaced.

02Oct_HasselbacksPotatoes

The lamb came out tender and with a nice spice crust on top.

02Oct_Lamb

I flaked the meat with two forks. I had two corn on the cob in the fridge and I cut the corn of and pan fried it. When the corn was cooked I added this to the flaked lamb and served it with a sprinkle of parsley.

02Oct_PulledLamb&Sweetcorn

We ate the lamb and the hasselbacks potatoes with light creme fraiche, hot sauce steamed savoy cabbage and broccoli. We ate all the lamb and for four people I would have cooked a whole shoulder of lamb as it is also great to eat cold the day after!

 

I have added this to Javelin Warriors always challenging Made with Love Mondays

 

MadeWithLove

Comments
2 Responses to “Chestnut powdered hasselbacks potatoes with slow roast lamb”
  1. I am such a novice when it comes to chestnuts – I haven’t really used them for anything! But I’m so intrigued by the idea of turning them into a powder. And over hasselback potatoes sounds particularly interesting…

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark
      if you find them pick them! They are so delicious! I usually use them for chicken stuffing or eat them just roasted but this is a great way to make them last longer.

Leave a Reply

