Steak fajita for dinner tonight

Having suffered a bit of a cold lately and this time it seems to have affected my sense of smell that as a follow up makes my taste buds more dull. I have tried lots of things but in the end I thought big and bold flavours would do the trick and went for steak fajitas. Not too much work but lots of flavour and quite quick as well to make.

To start I roasted some butternut squash, I cut it quite thin so it only took about 25 minutes. I flavoured the butternut with salt, pepper, smoked paprika and sesame seeds in oil and out in an 200C or 400F hot oven for 15 minutes, then reduce the heat to 150C or 300F.

The steak came from Robsons’ Butcher, we got a piece of rib eye, quite thick and delicious. I pan fried it and then finished it for 12 minutes in the oven and it came out pink and delicious.

10Oct_Steak

Whilst the steak cooked and rested I sliced some onion and gave them a sprinkle of black sesame seeds, chopped some paprika and placed some soured cream in a bowl.

10Oct_Condiments

I did a guacamole. This one has a Hungarian hot pepper sauce that I love with avocado, it does make it darker in colour as it is very red but it is well worth it.

Guacamole

Preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

Serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 spring onions
  • a handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 tsp Hungarian hot pepper sauce or 1 chilli
  • 1 tsp light creme fraiche
  • 1 handful of coriander
  • the juice of 1/4 lemon
  • salt & pepper

Peel and mash the avocado. Chop the spring onions and the tomatoes. Crush the garlic cloves. Mix all the ingredients with the avocado and taste with salt and pepper. Set aside until serving.

Peel and cut a celery stalk julienne.

10Oct_Celery

Rinse a small handful of fresh spinach leaves

10Oct_Spinach

Grate some cheese, I used cheddar as this is what I had at home but any hard cheese you like would work.

10Oct_GratedCheese

Take the butternut out of the oven when they are cooked through

10Oct_ButternutSquash

I didn’t fancy making wraps so I cut the tortillas in quarters. I brushed them with oil and gave them a sprinkle with black sesame seeds and seasalt and baked them in the oven for 3-5 minutes before plating up.

10Oct_SteakFajita

I liked the tortillas a little crispier, it added more texture and it worked very well with the beef.

Comments
One Response to “Steak fajita for dinner tonight”

Leave a Reply

