Plum tart with pistachio and chestnut praline

I have had making puff pastry on my to do list for a long time now and it was finally time. I followed this recipe as I am, well pretty crap at baking, and it worked so well!

I have to say I was quite pleased with myself! Now all I needed was something to go with it and settled for a punnet of lovely looking plums for a plum tart. I did have a think what would go well with plums and a bag of raw pistachio nuts caught my eye.

To add extra crunch to the dessert I started with making a praline.

Pistachio and chestnut praline 

Preparation time 0 minutes 

Cooking time  5 minutes 

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp pistachio nuts, whole, unsalted
  • 1 tbsp chestnut powder (I had roasted and crushed chestnuts before)
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup sugar

Place all the ingredients in a pan and heat the sugar until melted. make sure the pistachio nuts and the chestnut is covered, place on a non stick baking paper and let cool.

13Oct_Praline

Pistachio plum tart with pistachio and chestnut praline

Preparation time 10 minutes

Cooking time 20 minutes 

Oven 200C or 400F 

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 punnet of plums or 6-8 plums
  • puff pastry
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 dl or 1/2 dl ground pistachio nuts
  • slices of cold butter

To serve

  • Soured cream or cream

Place the puff pastry on a tray on baking paper. Cut an edge in the dough, not all the way through and prick the inner part of the dough with a fork.

Cut the plums in to eights and remove the stone.

13Oct_Plums

Mix the ground pistachio nuts and the sugar. Place the plums inside the puff pastry boarder and heap the sugar mixed with pistachio over.

13Oct_PlumTart-uncooked

Slice some cold butter over the tart but not too much and bake for 20 minutes, or until the puff pastry is golden and ready. Part of the sugar will melt and the plum will release some juice. The baking pistachio nuts cooking smells wonderful. When cooked take the tart out and let it cool a little before serving.

13Oct_PlumTart-Cooked

Meanwhile cut the praline in to chunks. Cut the tart in to four and serve with soured cream and the praline on top. The tart plums, the sweet sugar, the nutty pistachio flavour all came together with the puff pastry. The praline on top gave each bite a nice crunch and the undertone of chestnut.

13Oct_PlumTartServed

I liked this dessert as there was a lot of plums making it more fruity than sweet and can’t wait to try this on some friends!

I have added this to Javelin Warriors always challenging Made With Love Mondays, all about cooking from scratch!

MadeWithLove

Comments
2 Responses to “Plum tart with pistachio and chestnut praline”
  1. I love the idea of a pistachio praline! That sounds so good… And I have puff pastry on my list of must-make recipes too. Somehow I never seem to make it a priority 😉 I’m so impressed you took the time and it looks like it turned it beautifully…

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark
      thank you!
      It was great but I had to set time aside to actually make the pastry. Mixing the pistachio with the sugar as well made it slightly less sweet (and this allowed for the sweetness of the praline) so I was quite pleased 🙂

Leave a Reply

