Tuna tartar, tuna and chilli ceviche and a crab salad

This weeks occasion must be the opening of Whole Foods near where I work. I went last weekend and got as far as the doors, saw all the people and backed away. I went back today on my way home from work instead and there were less people so I decided to get some dinner. The fish counter looked great and I saw a piece of tuna that looked too good not to buy. I wasn’t quite sure what do do with it and it was fairly small for two so I got some crab meat and salmon roe as well.

17Oct_Tuna

I was thinking about what to make on my way home and decided to not cook any of the tuna and I came up with 3 small dishes that each could work as an amuse bouche, a starter, or together as a main course.

Tuna ceviche

Preparation time 5 minutes

Cooking time 0 minutes

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • ½ small tuna steak
  • 2 small or 1 large ripe avocado
  • ½ red chilli
  • juice of 1 ½ lime

Cut the tuna and the avocado in to cubed. Squeeze the lime juice over and gently mix with a spoon. Remove the seeds from the chilli and chop it fine and add. Set aside for 20 minutes in the fridge.

I chopped the remaining tuna fine for a tartar and served it with egg yolk, seasalt and chives. On the side I served the salmon roe and it worked really well.

17Oct_TunaTarTar&roe

I mixed the crab with mayonnaise, chilli and garlic and served it on top of a slice of mushroom with crispy garlic. We had some toast on the side, I had bought some great sourdough bread that I toasted lightly.

17Oct_Ceviche&Crab

It was a small piece of tuna and only 100 gr/3.5 oz of crab meat but it was more than enough for dinner. I only cooked the mushroom and the garlic, it was super quick and easy and, as a bonus, healthy and delicious.

Comments
2 Responses to “Tuna tartar, tuna and chilli ceviche and a crab salad”
  1. francesca says:

    delicious, and nice presentation 🙂

Leave a Reply

