Poached salmon with yuzu sauce and kale

As I was shopping the other day I saw some yuzu sauce. I have never used it before so I had to buy it. I am sure it is not too difficult to make yourself but I wanted to try it first. It is tangy with a clear citrus flavour. I decided to get some salmon and have a go at using it. I could have done a marinade but I didn’t have much time so I will save that for next time. The delicate citrus flavour goes very well with fish but I can imagine it would be great with chicken or pork as well.

Poached salmon with yuzu sauce 

Preparation time 5 minutes 

Cooking time 20 minutes 

Serves 2 as a starter, add more if serving more people or as a main course 

Ingredients

  • 100gr or 3.5 oz fresh salmon
  • a good handful of kale
  • 4 tsp yuzu sauce
  • 2 tsp of salmon roe
  • 1 spring onion

Rinse and slice the kale. Cut up the spring onion for decoration. Bring a pan of water to boil and add about 3 tbsp salt. When it is boiling and the salt is dissolved remove the water from the heat. Add the salmon and the kale and let stand with lid on for 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes take the salmon out and let cool slightly, then flake it with your hands. Get the kale out of the pan and drain excess water on some kitchen towel. Plate up the kale and the salmon. Sprinkle over 2 tsp yuzu sauce per portion over the salmon and then add the spring onion and the salmon roe just before serving.

20Oct_Salmon&Kale

It is easy to make more of everything to make bigger portions, I could easily have eaten more. The citrus flavour with the soft salmon and the salty roe was a great combination.

Comments
2 Responses to “Poached salmon with yuzu sauce and kale”

Leave a Reply

