Chestnut, macadamia, pecan and chocolate brownies

When we picked chestnuts I gave some to my neighbour. She was delighted and dreamily talked about the combination of chocolate and chestnuts. I dried most of ours and when I was asked to contribute with cake to a local rugby club to sell for charity I was delighted. I took it as a baking challenge and decided to make chestnut brownies. As a non baker I did take it seriously and I was nervous that no one would like them!

Chestnut, macadamia, pecan and chocolate brownies 

Preparation time 20 minutes 

Cooking time 30 minutes 

Oven 180C or 350F

Serves This makes 58 pieces and the recipe can easily be halved

Ingredients

  • 200 gr or 7 oz dark chocolate
  • 200 gr or 7 oz milk chocolate
  • 500 gr or 17.5 oz butter
  • 1 dl  or 1/2 cup molases
  • 4 dl or 2 cups demerarea sugar
  • 2 dl or 1 cup chestnut flour
  • 2 d or 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 100 gr or 3.5 oz macadamia nuts
  • 100 gr 0r 3.5 oz pecan nuts
  • 8 eggs

I used Varlhorna chocolate as I think it is one of the best chocolates made and I love the flavour. The milk chocolate has a slightly higher cocoa percentage than normal milk chocolate and it gives the chocolate a slightly deeper and more chocolatey flavour. Chop the chocolate and add to a pan. Chop the butter and add this and put on low heat until melted.

02Nov_Ingredients

Meanwhile mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. I made chestnut flour from the dried chestnut we picked and dried.

02Nov_ChestnutFlour

Chop the macadamia and pecan nuts roughly and add them last to the dry ingredients. In another bowl gently whisk the eggs. Add the eggs to the dry ingredients and then the melted chocolate and butter. Make sure it is all mixed and then pour in to a large cake tin, lined with baking paper.

Place in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Let it cool and cut in to squares. It might sound like 58 squares are many but it is a very rich brownie and a little goes a long way!

02Nov_Brownie

It was such a massive brownie I took some to our neighbours and we ate some as well and there was still plenty to take to the rugby club where I am happy to say the brownies sold out in no time and I had some great feedback.

I have added this to Javelin Warriors always great challenge Made With Love Mondays, all about cooking from scratch.

MadeWithLove

Comments
5 Responses to “Chestnut, macadamia, pecan and chocolate brownies”
  1. You’ve outdone yourself, Petra! These look fantastic and so moist and chocolatey. I imagine there were many happy people on that rugby team…

  2. Elizabeth says:

    How clever are these! We don’t get chestnuts growing where I live (too remote in the north sea!) and I’ve never heard of chestnut flour before but oh my, this sounds divine! I’d happily tuck into a plate of these! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Elisabeth

      Thanks for stopping by, I am glad you like them! I think you could replace the chestnut and ground macadamia or pecan nut to flour as well! 🙂

  3. ohh Petra! I’d take chestnut baked goods over pumpkin ones anyway. This looks moist + delicious and all those words you use for amazing looking cake.

Leave a Reply

