Rosemary poached cod and egg sauce

One of my favourite dishes when I grew up was cod with egg sauce but I always found that the cod is easily overcooked and if there is cream in the sauce it can get too heavy. I saw a nice piece of cod that I bought for dinner and I wanted to keep it light and with lots of herbs for flavour. Traditionally, in Sweden, this would be served with boiled potatoes but I wanted to add some spices and texture so I pan fried the potatoes instead.

Rosemary poached cod

Preparation time 5 minutes

Cooking time 20 minutes

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 450 gr or 16 oz line caught cod
  • 1 sprig of rosemary
  • 2 bayleaves
  • a good handful of salt
  • boiling water

Bring the water to the boil with the herbs and the salt. When it is boiling take it off the heat and add the cod. Put the lid on and let stand for 20 minutes,

Whilst that is cooking make a butternut bechamel without the nutmeg and the cheese, see recipe here. instead of the nutmeg and cheese I chopped parsley, dill and two boiled eggs for the bechamel.

To add more flavour, texture and spice I pan fried potatoes. We had dinner at our neighbours one night and they had made potatoes with mustard seeds and sesame seeds. I loved it and did the same to go with the cod. I did think about making mash but it would have left everything too soft.

03Nov_Potatoes

I chopped some radishes to go with the meal as well and it was a very satisfying dinner but still light. The rosemary and bayleaves gave a subtle flavour to the fish that worked well. I would never have thought of using rosemary with cod but I wanted that extra flavour.

03Nov_CodDinner

Whenever I cook fish I always think I need to eat fish more often and this was no exception.

Comments
3 Responses to “Rosemary poached cod and egg sauce”

Leave a Reply

