Trout stuffed with grapefruit and roasted quinoa

I finally started clearing out my closet, something that has been postponed from my to do list for way too long! I cleared out so much I am not quite sure where it all came from but it felt quite cleansing and hopefully it will help my local charity at the same time. This took a lot longer than I had planned so I thought that fish would be great for dinner, lighter than meat and quite fast to cook as well.

I liked the look of a couple of trouts and they are great with citrus so I opted for grapefruit. We quite often have a discussion about quinoa, I think it is delicious but the man seems to disagree so I thought I would try and make it more interesting.

Veg studded, roasted quinoa 

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 45 minutes 

Oven 220C or 430F 

Serves 3 

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 leek
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 2 dl or 2 cups of chicken stock

Peel the carrot and cut it in to small cubes, slice the leek thinly and chop the celery. Add the vegetables, the quinoa and the chicken stock and bring to a boil. For a vegetarian version use vegetable stock. Let it cook on low temperature for up to 20 minutes or until the stock is gone.

Once it is cooked spread out on a no stick baking sheet and bake it for 15 minutes. It will come out nice and roasted.

10Nov_CrispQuinoa

When the quinoa is roasting clean the trout. I bought whole, gutted ones but it still needed cleaning. Run a knife down the skin to make sure the scales are removed, scrape it inside to make sure there is no blood left, rinse it thoroughly and pat dry with household paper.

Trout stuffed with grapefruit 

Preparation time 15 minutes

Cooking time 15 minutes

Oven 220C or 430F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 trout/pp
  • 2 rashes of bacon
  • 1 grapefruit
  • lemon thyme
  • 1/2 dl or 1.4 cup pecan nuts
  • a pinch of seasalt
  • black pepper

Peel and cut segments (also called fillets) from the grapefruit in to a bowl and squeeze the juice in there as well. Chop the pecan nuts and take the lemon thyme of the stems. Mix the grapefruit fillets (save the juice for later), the pecan nuts, the lemon thyme, salt and pepper. Mix well and stuff the trout. 

10Nov_StuffedTrout

Fry the bacon in a pan until crispy, drain on household paper and set aside. Add some oil and a little butter to the pan and pan fry the trouts, about 2 minutes on each side.

10Nov_CookedTrout

Then place the pan with the trout in the oven and let cook for a further 6 minutes.

When the fish is cooked place the trout on warmed plates and add the grapefruit juice to the pan, let simmer down for a couple of minutes and serve the jus with the fish and the quinoa and the crispy bacon scatters on top. I used the bacon as I had 2 rashes that needed to be used and they added a nice salty flavour to the fish.

10Nov_TroutDinner

This was a great way to eat quinoa and I will do it again and experiment more and there was no complaints about  boring quinoa!

I have added this to Javelin Warriors challenge to cook from scratch Made With Love Mondays, thank you for hosting it I love to take part and head over and have a look if you haven’t seen it!

MadeWithLove

Comments
10 Responses to “Trout stuffed with grapefruit and roasted quinoa”
  1. I have to admit, I’m not yet a fan of quinoa but I’ve never had it roasted so there’s still hope 😉 And I did recently get a chance to try my first stuffed trout – but this version sounds tastier!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark
      Someone told me that quinoa isn’t “man food” and perhaps he was right, but cooked without anything but a bit of salt can make it a little…. less in flavor so I try to add as much as I can whilst cooking it. Trout is easy and quick to cook and quite cheap as well 🙂

  2. Nice use of grapefruit! How does it compare to using lemon or lime?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Dan

      thanks for stopping by! Grapefruit has that lovely balance of sweet and still tangy, lemon has more of a “clean” flavor and I like that as well but the grapefruit is my favorite with the trout.

  3. The stuffing for the fish sounds delicious! What a great idea to roast quinoa–I will have to try it the next time I make quinoa!

  4. this is my jam!!!… can’t believe I just said that… 🙂 I have to get my trout fix now. Great post!

Leave a Reply

