Healthy egg baked in a rice bread basket with hot smoked salmon

The other day I saw some hot smoked salmon. It was dark in color and I had never heard of a maple syrup glaze before. I bought a small piece knowing I had to try it. I didn’t have it for dinner but when I woke up the next morning I did remember it and decided to have it for brunch, what a happy way tp start the day! As I wanted brunch and it was 7am I did close my eyes again and when I woke up it was indeed brunch time.

The smoked salmon 16Nov_SmokedMapleSalmon

I started  by making a clean kitchen towel damp and placed it over the rice bread to keep it from breaking up, it seems a little delicate.

Start with the ever so slightly dampened rice bread, I used a large muffin form and and a glass to create the shape of the baskets, be gentle so that they don’t break. I baked the bread baskets in the muffin form, this was a non stick so easy to get them out when cooked.

16Nov_RiceBread

Egg and cottage cheese bake in rice bread baskets 

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 15-18 minutes 

Oven 175C or 350F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp cottage cheese
  • leek (a small piece of)
  • 2 cocktail tomatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 small handful of raw cashew nuts
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 sheets of rice bread

To serve with

  • flaked, smoked salmon
  • cucumber
  • avocado

Slice the leek and chop the tomatoes and cashew nuts, mix it with the cottage cheese, mustard seeds and taste with salt and pepper. Place this at the bottom of the rice bread basket. make a dent in the middle and crack the egg on top.

16Nov_EggToBake

Place in the oven and bake until the egg white is just set, keep an eye on it the last few minutes to keep the egg yolk runny.

Meanwhile flake the salmon, slice the avocado and cube the cucumber. When the egg bake is ready the rice bread will have a crispy top and the egg will be just baked through. Add the flaked salmon on top.

16Nov_EggBakeInBread

Serve with the avocado and cucumber. The rice bread was crispy on top and the filling nice and soft. The salmon was so good I know I will have to go back and buy some more for another day and it was perfect with the cottage cheese mix. There was no added fat but filling and very satisfying. A great way to start my day ahead.

Comments
3 Responses to “Healthy egg baked in a rice bread basket with hot smoked salmon”
  1. That looks awesome! Not sure if I could find thin rice bread like the one you used. Might have to sub it with something else. Thanks for posting. -Angie

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂
      It might be available in a health food shop, but am sure soft tortillas would work just as well.

  2. Francesca says:

    Genius! Avocado, salmon and eggs.. oh my !

Leave a Reply

