Chocolate and chestnut fondant

I have been thinking about making chocolate fondants for a while and today was the day. A friend was coming over and what better excuse? I am a firm believer that the better the chocolate, the better the result.

My chocolate of choice is always Varlhorna. I didn’t have any at home so I tried a new kind, milk chocolate but with high cocoa content, 54%.  I did find some other ingredients that I wanted to use and as I lined up the ingredients I realized I didn’t have any eggs. With my friend arriving soon I didn’t have enough time to hit the shops so I replaced the hens eggs with quails eggs and was pretty sure it would be ok.

The only mistake I made was that it was a very small batch and having left tell tale signs of the baking in the kitchen, the man did some loud complaining when he got home, I listened with half an ear but I am sure I picked up words like selfish, greedy and ungenerous. I guess it was sort of a compliment and responded that it was a timing issue from his side. My peace offering in the shape of a cup of tea was accepted but was a bit of a poor compensation.

Chocolate and butter 20Nov_Butter&Chocolate

Quails eggs 20Nov_QuailsEggs

Chocolate and chestnut fondant 

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 10 minutes 

Oven 160C or 320F

Serves 2 (large)

Ingredients

  • 50 gr or 1.8 oz good quality chocolate
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 50 gr of 1.8 oz butter
  • 8 quails eggs or 1 egg and 1 egg yolk from a normal hens egg
  • 55 gr or 2 oz of pistachio sugar (sugar mixed with chopped pistachio nuts)
  • 2 tbsp of rum
  • 25 gr or 1 oz dried chestnut flour
  • 25 gr or 1 oz plain flour

Melt the chocolate and the butter in a pan on low heat and set aside. Whisk the egg and sugar smooth. Butter the molds and dust with cocoa powder.

Mix the melted butter and chocolate with the egg mix and then add the rum. Last fold in the flour. Place the mixture in the mold and bake for 10 minutes, I did these for 12 minutes but 10 minutes would have been perfect but they were still good. We ate them with Greek style honey yogurt. I like the tangy yogurt better than cream or ice cream.

20Nov_Fondant

There was only enough mixture for 2 fondants but the recipe is easy to increase but they are so rich you can easily make small fondants instead and save a little room for cheese or fresh fruit later. I liked the mixture but Valhorna chocolate would perhaps have been even better, best get shopping for the next round!

Comments
4 Responses to “Chocolate and chestnut fondant”
  1. Wow, this looks so rich and delicious! The perfect dish for a chocolate craving 😀 Unfortunately, I don’t have any chestnut flour–what would you suggest as a substitute?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ada

      Thank you 🙂
      I would try some almond flour? It is usually where the nuts are, or grind some pistachios They are super quick to make and very rewarding!

  2. Corina says:

    They look incredible – I love fondants and often make them for special days like Valentine’s day or my husband’s birthday.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      I am glad you like them 🙂 I don’t make fondants very often but they are always worth while aren’t they? 🙂

Leave a Reply

