Joe’s smoked pork belly with pink peppercorn stuffed portobello mushrooms

Sometimes friends gives you the best surprises. The other week I meet up with a friend over dinner, she had come down from Scotland and her husband Joe, who is also the maker of the smoked cheese I love so much, had sent some pork belly that he cooked the night before. Joe cooks the most amazing food and pretty much all outdoors. I had never had his pork belly before and what a lovely surprise.

The pork belly had been cured and cooked over open fire. I could smell the smokiness and a hint of apple and it looked oh so edible.

15Dec_PorkBelly

I had some portobello mushrooms to go with the pork belly so I stuffed them, I used same base as I have before but with slightly different ingredients.

Pink peppercorn stuffed portobello mushrooms

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 15 minutes 

Oven 225C or 440F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 portobello mushrooms
  • 3 large tbsp low fat cottage cheese
  • 1/2 feta cheese
  • 2 tbsp pink peppercorns
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup sliced leek
  • seasalt to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp paprika powder

Clean the mushrooms, remove the stem and place the mushrooms in an oven proof dish. Crumble the feta cheese and mix with the cottage cheese, then add the pink peppercorns, the leek and spices and fill the mushrooms. I prefer the filling piled high. Bake for 15 minutes or until the mushrooms are cooked through and the filling is slightly browned.

We ate it with avocado and tomatoes to balance the richness of the meat and the pink peppercorns gave the mushroom stuffing a nice bite.

15Dec_Belly&stuffedMushrom

This is my kind of food and I love vegetables, on their own or with meat. I love cottage cheese, it is low in fat, low in cholesterol and a good source of protein and it works with most foods and spices. I mix it with the feta to make it a bit richer and feta is so nice when it has been browned in the oven.

Leave a Reply

