Vegetable and chicken studded bulgur wheat

I have always loved to read and I worked my way through my parents bookshelf from the moment I could read. I used to get so engrossed with a book I brought it with me and kept reading when walking our dog, much to our neighbors amusement.The only book I never finished was Alexander Solzhenitsyn‘s Cancer Ward, I was 11 years old and it was simply too complex. It didn’t put me of Russian authors and over the holidays I read a simply amazing book, A Siberian Education by Nicolai Lilin and Jonathan Hunt. It is a compelling description of the criminal underworld in Siberia. It is violent and brutal and still so human.

I didn’t have much left of the book but it was time to start thinking about dinner and I wanted something healthy and quick. I had a half cooked chicken breast that I used here but it works just as well to omit this and make a vegan dish instead. I used cracked bulgur wheat as it cooks quickly and has a great texture.

Cracked bulgur wheat 03Jan_BulgurWheat

Vegetable and chicken studded bulgur wheat

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 10 minutes 

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup cracked bulgur wheat
  • 4 dl or 2 cups water
  • 1/2 carrot
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1/2 leek
  • 2 tbsp raising
  • 1/4 head of savoy cabbage
  • 1/2 onion
  • 4 cocktail tomatoes
  • 1/2 pomegranate, seeds only
  • 6 button mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1/2 chicken breast, cooked
  • 1 cinamon stick
  • 1 star anise
  • 1/2 tbsp seasalt
  • ground black pepper

Slice the cabbage. Peel the carrot and cut it in small cubes together with the celery stick and the onion. Slice the leek. Quarter the tomatoes and the cleaned mushrooms and slice the spring onions. Cube the cooked chicken and get the pomegranate seeds out of the pomegranate.

03Jan_Pomogranate

Place the bulgur wheat and the water in a pan with a lid and add the star anise and the cinnamon stick. Place the carrots and the celery and leek in the water with the cabbage on top. place the onion on top of the cabbage and then the raisins. Bring to a boil and let boil for 5 minutes. After that turn the heat off and let stand for a further 5 minutes.

Whilst that is cooking in another pan add the mushrooms and turn on the heat. Cook until the juice has come out of the mushrooms and it has started to evaporate, if it looks dry add a little water to help the process along. Once the water is just about gone add the soy sauce and the mirin, let it cook in and set aside until you need them.

03Jan_Mushrooms

Once the additional 5 minutes are gone add the cold ingredients, the chicken, pomegranate, spring onion and tomatoes. Add this to the bulgur wheat together with the mushrooms, salt and pepper. Remove the cinnamon and star anise and stir. Let the dish heat through and then serve. Set some of the cold vegetables aside for garnish.

03Jan_BulgurWheatDinner

I didn’t add any fat to this dish and it was very filling. I cooked this for 2 but it was dinner for two and lunch for one as well! A little more bulgur wheat would easily make it a dish for four. Add any vegetables you have and any meat/fish/tofu depending on what you have available for this dish. It was healthy and quick and it gave me plenty of time to finish my book.

Comments
4 Responses to “Vegetable and chicken studded bulgur wheat”
  1. Corina says:

    It looks beautiful.

  2. Sally says:

    I understand your reading addiction completely and would read the cornflakes packet if there wasn’t anything else around. Lovely recipe

Leave a Reply

