Sea bass two ways, ceviche and pan fried sea bass with roasted quinoa

After a lot of meat it was time for some nice fish. I was in town and on my way back I decided to stop at Whole Foods, all the fish I have bought there has always been great. I wasn’t sure what I wanted, or what they had so I just went there and had a look. My eye was immediately drawn to an amazing looking seabass. It was wild, line caught and white as snow, I just had to buy some!

04Jan_Seabass

Before I started I wanted a little something to eat so I did an amuse bouche of 1/2 soft boiled egg and mustard pickled herring. It made for a nice bite.

04Jan_Egg&Herring

The sea bass was super fresh so  sliced some shavings off the ends to make it look nice and I made a ceviche. If you are making this just make sure the fish is very fresh. If it smells at all either don’t use it or cook the fish through.

Seabass ceviche 

Preparation time 10 minutes 

Cooking time 15-20 minutes to rest before serving 

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • thinly slices seabass
  • 1/2 lime, zest and juice
  • 1/2 small orange
  • 1 tbsp grainy mustard
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tbsp rapeseed oil

For Garnish

  • chives
  • cress
  • a pinch of chipotle chile, crushed

Slice the seabass thinly and place on a plate. Mix the lime, orange, the mustard, salt and sugar and taste. When you are happy with the flavor add the oil, whisk again and pour over the sea bass. Cover loosely and place in the fridge for 15-20 minutes. Before serving sprinkle over sliced chives and the cress, finally give it a sprinkle of the chipotle chile.

04Jan_SeabassCeviche

I bought some black quinoa to go with the bass. Quinoa is a very healthy grain and it is gaining in popularity, so much that it has an impact on the lives of the farmers in Bolivia and Peru, where it is grown. I read this article in the Guardian, you can read about the impact here and please make sure you buy organic and fair trade.

04Jan_FairTradeQuinoa

Black quinoa04Jan_Quinoa

Roasted quinoa with fennel

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes + 15 minutes for roasting 

oven 180C or 350F 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 dl quinoa
  • 3 dl vegetable stock
  • 1/2 lime

For roasting

  • 1/2 finely chopped shallot onion
  • 1/2 thinly sliced fennel

Boil the quinoa in the vegetable stock with the 1/2 lemon. This will infuse flavor to the quinoa. Once cooked drain of any remaining liquid and place on a non stick baking sheet in a large pan. Scatter over the shallot onion and the fennel and place in the oven.

I rinsed the fish and added some salt and pepper before placing them skin (scaled) down in a hot frying pan, I used a teflon pan that I can place in the oven with a little butter for color and flavor the fish. When the skin has color turn it flesh side down and place in the oven with the quinoa for 15 minutes.

Whilst that was cooking I took a bunch of tomatoes I had. I skinned and chopped them and cooked them down in a pan with a little vegetable stock. I added 1 tbsp soy sauce, salt, pepper, lime juice and a small amount of honey and let it reduce to about two thirds.

It should now look like tomato pulp. Sieve the pulp, taste and add more salt and pepper if necessary and your sauce is ready. Last minute pan fry some prawns and serve.

04Jan_SeabassDinner

The sea bass was just as good as it looked if not better. I had some more chives left over and used this for garnish. It was healthy and delicious and one of my resolutions for this year is to eat more fish.

Comments
5 Responses to “Sea bass two ways, ceviche and pan fried sea bass with roasted quinoa”
  1. sebbyholmes says:

    That Seabass looks amazing, good choice. Awesome dish Petra

  2. DuPont™ Teflon® Brand says:

    Hi, Petra – Thanks for recommending cookware with Teflon® nonstick coatings while making your sea bass recipe! I represent DuPont™ and it’s always a pleasure to see people recommending our products in their recipes.

    For more great recipes and tips for your cookware with Teflon® nonstick coatings, visit:http://www2.dupont.com/Teflon/en_US/carefree_cooking_magazine/index.html and
    http://www.pinterest.com/TeflonBrand! Also, feel free to check out our Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/teflonbrand) and Twitter (https://twitter.com/teflonbrand) pages.

    Thanks!

    Cheers, Nellie

  3. Francesca says:

    looks delicious, and awesome presentation.

Leave a Reply

