Spiced chicken wings with hot mango sauce and Stilton baked mushrooms

It was time to travel again for business. The first stop this year was Dublin. I had some re arrangements with some meetings and ended up with some extra time over lunch. I decided to head to one of my favorite Dublin restaurants for lunch, The Blackboard Bistro. It was great to be back, the atmosphere is always so relaxed.

As it was lunch I settled for a main course, roasted cod with puy lentils and red wine jus. As soon as it came out from the kitchen I knew it would be great.

16Jan_RoastCod

The cod was cooked to perfection and so good with the rich lentils. It was a great call and I was so pleased I had time to go there.

Once back home I had the urge to cook. I hadn’t been away for very long but I guess there is something comforting about it. I went to Robson’s Butcher to buy some dinner for Sunday and saw some chicken wings. I got some for dinner that night.

Once at home I thought I would make a sweet chilli sauce to go with them but it has quite a lot of sugar so I decided to make a hot mango sauce instead, I wouldn’t need any sugar, just some honey.

Spicy mango sauce 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe mango
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp runny honey
  • 1 tsp cracked black pepper
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • salt to taste

Peel and cut up the mango in large chunks. Slice the red chilli, including the seeds. Place the mango and the chilli in a blender.

Jan17_Mango&Chilli

Blend until the mango is smooth and taste the heat, if it is not hot enough add another chilli. When you are happy with the heat add it to a bowl and add the honey and black pepper. Add salt to taste and when you are happy set the sauce aside until you are ready to eat. You can of course add more chilli and/or hot sauce if you want it more heat.

17Jan_Mango&ChilliSauce

Smoked paprika sounded like a good spice for the chicken wings as I couldn’t cook them on the barbecue, I added some cayenne pepper for some heat as well and a little oil, just enough to make the spices stick.

Smoked paprika chicken wings 

Preparation time 5 minutes 

Cooking time 20 minutes 

Oven 225C or 440F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 6 chicken wings
  • 5 garlic cloves

The spice mix 

  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp rapeseed or vegetable oil

Mix all the spices but not the oil in a small bowl. Cut the chicken wings by the joint and remove the tip of the wing if it is still attached. Place the chicken in a plastic bag, add the spice mix and then the oil. shake the bag until all of the chicken wings are coated.

Peel and half the garlic cloves and place it all in an ovenproof dish.

17Jan_SpicedChickenWings

Cook for 20 minutes.

I think that chicken and blue cheese goes very well together and as I still have some Stilton left I decided to make some Stilton cheese stuffed mushrooms and I added them to the oven when there was 10 minutes left of the cooking time and everything was ready at the same time.

I wanted something that was light and fresh to go with the chicken wings and had a look in my fruit bowl. I had some grapes and a Nashi pear that I wanted to use so I made a salad.

Grape and Nashi pear salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 Nashi pear
  • 1 small hanful of grapes
  • lettuce
  • 1 spring onion
  • 1 small handful of sugar snap peas
  • 1 tbsp good olive oil
  • 1 tbsp fruit vinegar
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 pinch of seasalt

Slice the lettuce and the spring onion (also called scallion). Remove the stringy part of the sugar snap peas and slice. Cut the grapes in half. Peel the Nashi pear, they have a wonderfully crispy texture. and cut in julienne. Mix everything and then add the oil, vinegar and the sea salt. last give it a sprinkle of the sesame seeds.

17Jan_Salad

The chicken wings came out crispy and spicy and the garlic nicely roasted.

17Jan_CookedChicken&Garlic

The Stilton mushrooms and the chicken worked really well together and gave me that “blue cheese and chicken wing” hit I was after.

17Jan_Dinner

The salad and the hot mango sauce brought it all together, I got the kitchen roll out and got stuck in, chicken wings is proper finger food and quite messy but it can be so satisfying. It was even better when dinner was cooked in less than 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

