A light mango chicken curry

I have a mango that needs to be used, I have looked at it for a couple of days but not had any time to cook, or even eat it. I also know I love to make a mango, chicken curry so I did have this in mind. I got 2 chicken breasts, medium size and it was more than enough for two.

Mango chicken curry

Preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 10 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe mango
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 red chilli
  • 2 cardamon pods
  • 2 tsp seasalt
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of low fat yogurt

Peel and mash the mango. Crush the cardamon pods and grind the cardamon seeds. Chop the chilli fine. Add the cardamon, turmeric and mustard seeds to the mashed mango.

24Jan_Mango&Spices

Mix and add the yogurt. Slice the chicken breast fine and add to the marinade. Let stand over night if you can, I only had 30 minutes and that was fine too but it gets better after at least a few hours. cover with cling film and leave in the fridge.

24Jan_ChickenInMarinade

I made some cracked bulgar wheat as it is so quick. I started the bulgar wheat at the same time as the chicken and they were ready in 10-15 minutes. I chopped 1 celery stalk, 1/2 onion and I also added some cherry tomatoes to the bulgar wheat when cooking it.

Place the chicken with marinade in a pan and put on medium heat. Watch it carefully and make sure you stir, when it starts to get warm turn the heat down, the chicken is so thin it will cook quickly. The yogurt might split, it will still be delicious but it will look a little funny.

I added chopped parsley and spring onion to the bulgar wheat  and let stand for 5 minutes. I also did an apple and avocado salad to serve on the side. I had 1 apple, 1 avocado, a few strands of carrot, a small handful of toasted hazel nuts and salt and pepper.

Apple salad 24Jan_AppleSalad

I added baby spinach leaves before serving and poured the chicken curry on top of it, just to wilt the leaves slightly. It was light but flavorsome, it cooked quickly and it has a comforting touch, especially when the rain is pouring down and the winds are howling outside.

24Jan_ChickenMangoCurry

I liked the cardamon with the chicken, and the heat from the chilli, the sauce didn’t split and we ate every last bit of both the bulgar wheat and the curry.

Comments
5 Responses to “A light mango chicken curry”
  1. Corina says:

    It sounds lovely. I always find I split sauces like this but the taste is still great, even if that does happen.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Corina

      I agree
      , the split sauces doesn’t look as pretty but still tastes great! 🙂 This is such a quick and easy dish, I think it would work with prawns as well but maybe chilli instead if cardamom, and/or garlic. Am hungry, it is lunchtime!

  2. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Looks delish. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Food Eat Love also has these great looking recipes; Julianna’s delicious Japanese curry, a vegetarian coconut curry in a hurry, (I am certain my friend from SoCal could try this ‘what’s in the fridge’ dish), and finally from Petra this week, a light mango chicken curry. […]



Leave a Reply

