Tomatillo and spinach pesto

I am usually not hungry at all in the morning but the other day I woke up hungry! I went to Whole Foods on my way to work to get a yogurt and some fruit for the day. I soon realized this was a bad idea as I got sidetracked by just about everything. I found some fresh peanut butter that looked irrisistable, I spent ages longingly gazing at the various cheeses, a pack of organic Frankfurters made their way in to my basket and in the veg department I saw tomatillos. I have never (knowingly) eaten or cooked with them but I have seen them on TV, mainly food programs from the USA. I just had to get a couple and make something. A basket full and a lot longer than the allocated time later I headed to the till to pay and get going!

Once home I cut a piece and tasted the tomatillo, it was tangy but not too sharp with a citrus flavor and a delicious texture. They are a distant relative of the tomato. I decided to make a pesto with some raw and some baked tomatillo. It is very quick and easy to make.

Tomatillo, chipotle chile, garlic and coriander

02Feb_TomatilloGarlicCorianderChilli

Tomatillo and spinach pesto

preparation time 15 mins

cooking time 3 mins

oven 200C or 400F

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 tomatillos
  • 1 spring onion
  • 1 bunch of coriander
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 chipotle chilli
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 pinch of salt

Peel and chop the garlic cloves about twice. Cut the tomatillo, remove the “stem”

02Feb_Tomatillo

Set aside about 1/3 of the tomatillo and chop the rest roughly. Place the roughly chopped tomatillo and garlic in a bowl with a little oil, salt and pepper. Place on a non stick baking paper and roast in the oven for about 10 minutes or until just browned.

A cut tomatilloΒ 02Feb_TomatilloInside

Whilst the tomatillo and garlic are roasting chop the rest of the tomatillo, slice the spring onion, crush the chipotle chile, rinse the spinach and let dry om a clean kitchen towel, and chop the coriander. Place everything in a blender and add the oven roasted veg on top.

02Feb_Blender

Drizzle over the extra virgin olive oil and blend for about 1 minute, a bit more if necessary. Place in a bowl and serve.

02Feb_TomatilloPesto

I loved the flavor. I guess it is really some kind of mix between a pesto and a salsa. The citrus flavor really came through and gave it a lovely zesty tang, the smokey chipotle added heat and a depth of flavor, if you see them or if you have a sunny garden spot give them a go, what a find!

 

I have added this to the always great challenge to cook from scratch, Made with Love Mondays, run and hosted by Javelin Warrior, if you haven’t see his blog have a look and be inspired!

MadeWithLove

Comments
6 Responses to “Tomatillo and spinach pesto”
  1. This pesto sounds delicious! Definitely a nice change from the more traditional pesto πŸ™‚

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ada

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It was really nice and I loved that extra citrus hit. I have just found some tomatillo seeds and will try to grow some this summer πŸ™‚

  2. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    You know, this is a great idea. Very creative. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe.

    • petra08 says:

      Hello Editors of Garden Variety

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It worked out quite well! I am hoping to cook a lot more with tomatillos, so delicious πŸ™‚

  3. I love tomatillos, especially in salsa, but I’ve never tried them as a pesto. This sounds so good, especially with the addition of the chipotle chile pepper… Very creative, Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It might have been more my tomatillo ignorance that made me make pesto but it worked! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

