Bacon and herb crusted cod

Once on a cooking program the focus was on bacon. One of the food critics called it “natures perfect food” and I have to agree. I love the rich, salty taste and how it goes with pretty much everything. Saying that I haven’t tried it with a dessert but perhaps that is for a reason.

I had two rashes hanging around in the fridge and wanted to use them. I did have a thought that I could perhaps just fry them crispy and eat them but then that would be cheating of sorts. With the bacon in mind I went to the shops for some food and as I saw a nice looking piece of cod I thought I should do something with cod and bacon, a lovely combination.

Bacon and herb crusted cod

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 15 minutes

oven 180C or 360F

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 450 gr or xxx cod
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 bunch of dill
  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • 2 rashes of bacon
  • wasabi powder
  • salt & pepper
  • oil for cooking

Pan fry the bacon crispy and drain the fat on some kitchen towel. When it has cooled cut the bacon fine. Chop the parsley and dill, separate the egg yolk from the egg white, you will only use the egg white in this dish. I had one left over from a previous day.

Whisk the egg white stiff, add the bacon, chopped herbs, the wasabi and some salt and pepper. Gently mix.

Salt and pepper the cod and place in a hot, ovenproof pan. Add the egg white mixture on top, place some butter or spray some cooking oil on top and Place in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Keep an eye on it during the last minutes to avoid the cod overcooking.

Crusted cod ready for cookingΒ 02Feb_RawCrustedCod

I had peeled and chopped a swede and a carrot and they were boiling away. I rinsed some spinach. When the swede and carrot were boiled soft I placed them in the blender with some buttermilk, salt and pepper and blended it to a smooth mash. I quickly rinsed the pan the swede and carrot had cooked in, placed the spinach in the pan and the mash on top. I then placed the lid on and let stand for 5 minutes until the spinach had just wilted. When this was done the cod was ready.

02Feb_CookedCrustedCod

I had some mayonnaise that I had also made the day before and I added some crushed garlic and chopped dill and served it as a sauce. I added just a hint of water to slightly, loosen it up a little.

02Feb_CodDinner

I always find cod a very filling fish but cooked right it melts in your mouth and it worked very well with the spinach and swede mash. The crust was lovely and it was very lightly held together by the whisked egg white, why did I not think of this before?!

Comments
8 Responses to “Bacon and herb crusted cod”
  1. That looks good, Petra, and I’m not even into fish that much. But I’ve been seeing fish recipes everywhere, maybe I should really give fish a chance (let’s sing…All we are saying…is give fish a chance…, lol…). Btw, Petra, how come you’re not partying with us at Fiesta Friday? Would love for you to join us! XOXO

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie

      Am glad you like a fish recipe πŸ™‚ Cooked right it is delicious, I think sometimes school meals has given fish a little bit of a bad name..
      Oh I have missed that, I just checked it out and of course I would love to join in the Fiesta Friday! πŸ™‚ xx

      • I’m ready to embrace fish with all its glory! Actually I do cook fish, but don’t think I’m good at it. And some fish smells more than others, lol…
        All right, Petra! Now that you’re in, it’ll be rocking for sure! πŸ™‚

      • petra08 says:

        oh Angie

        don’t buy fish that smells like fish! πŸ™‚ it is just not as fresh and the secret is just not to overcook it! πŸ™‚
        Can’t wait to party, need to have a think! Thank you for inviting me!

  2. Corina says:

    It looks lovely and I also love the sound of bacon and cod together. I think it goes so well with fish. It must be the saltiness.

  3. This dish looks beautiful! The herb crust sounds delicious–I can imagine it adding a nice flavor and texture to a mild fish like cod πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

