Cauliflower with paneer cheese and spiced Freekeh

I was so excited as it was market day. This was my first here and I could not wait to check it out. The sun was shining and I got a shopping bag and headed out. The first stop was Laura’s fine foods for breakfast, this was before I could even find anything to cook with. They had the irresistible offering of a waffle with bacon and maple syrup. The bacon was crispy and cooked to perfection and the meal was perfected by a lovely pot of tea. Laura’s also sell various foods and something called Freekeh caught my eve. I had never heard of it but it looked intriguing. It turned out that it is a highly nutritious grain, you can read more about it here. Happy with my breakfast and purchase it was time to set off for the market.

24Feb_Freekeh

It was a mixed market with plenty of fruit and veg for sale.

24Feb_VegAtMarket

Lots of beautiful flowers, sadly I hadn’t found my vases but next week for sure!

24Feb_Flowers

There were a lot of antiques and other things for sale. being so close to France perhaps someone had raided a charming looking street sign?

24Feb_MarketSign

A cauliflower head looked so edible I had to get it and I thought it might go well with my newly purchased Freekeh for dinner. The Freekeh would take the longest to cook so I steamed the cauliflower and then started with the grain.

I have entered this to Angies great food fest, Fiesta Friday! You can see all the inspiring entries here and please join in!

Curry spiced Freekeh

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 30 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 dl or 3/4 cup Freekeh
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 shallot onion
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • water to add if it looks dry
  • 1 tbsp oil

Rinse the Freekeh. 24Feb_FrekkeghSeeds

Chop the onion fine and place in a pan with the oil, the Freekeh and the mustard seeds. Let cook for a little while whilst stirring. Open the coconut milk and set some of the thick “cream” aside. Add the rest to the Freekeh together with the curry powder, salt and pepper and cook. Don’t stir but make sure there is enough liquid for it not to boil dry, let cook on low heat under a lid until ready. It is ready when the grains are soft but not mushy

24Feb_CookedFreekeh

Cauliflower with a cheese bechamel, paneer cheese and toasted hazelnuts 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes 

serves 2 

Ingredients

  • 1 small head of cauliflower

for the bechamel sauce

  • 4 dl or 2 cups of milk, I used semi skimmed
  • 3 heaped tsp of corn starch
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup grated cheese, use one you like, I used a cheddar
  • salt & ground white pepper to taste
  • 1 handful of fresh spinach

also

  • 1/2 paneer cheese
  • 1 handful of raw, unsalted hazelnuts

Roughly chop the hazelnuts and toast them in a dry pan.  Rinse the spinach. When they start to color set them aside until you are ready to serve. Make the bechamel, add the milk to the pan and when it starts to heat up mix the corn starch with a little cold milk or water and add. Keep stirring until it has boiled a little. Add salt and pepper to taste. Once you are happy with the taste take the bechamel off the heat and add the cheese, stir until it is melted, then add the fresh spinach, place the lid on and let stand until you are ready, you can re heat the bechamel later if necessary.

Cut the paneer cheese in to cubes. Cut the cauliflower, I cut it in quarters and steamed it until just cooked through. Pan fry the paneer cheese until browned, add a little salt and pepper for flavor.

Place the cauliflower in a serving dish.

24Feb_SteamedCauliflower

Pour over the bechamel, top with the paneer cheese and the toasted hazelnuts. I finished the dish with some watercress and served it with the Freekeh.

24Feb_CauliflowerMeal

It was light and fresh and the Freekeh was delicious, if you find it try it but it needs spices to liven it up a little!

Comments
11 Responses to “Cauliflower with paneer cheese and spiced Freekeh”
  1. I just love cauliflower and a I am always looking for new ways to serve it – thanks. I never heard of freekeh before 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Judi

      Thanks for stopping by! I love cauliflower too and could not resist buying some! If you come across freekeh try it, it is delicious but needs spices! I think it can take a lot more spice that I used but I thought i would start somewhere! 🙂

      • Thanks – I am going to save this recipe and let you know when I make it. If I cannot find freekeh locally I know I can buy it online 🙂

      • petra08 says:

        Well, I went back to the shop as I only bought a little jar but they didn’t have any more so I might follow you and get it online. 🙂
        Yes let me know how it goes and I hope you will like it!

  2. chefjulianna says:

    This looks so delicious! You are lucky to find freekeh so easily. I have been looking for it and I just can’t seem to find it. I will keep looking for it, though. Thanks so much for this recipe.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Juliana

      Thanks for coming to my blog and your comment 🙂 I could only find a small tub so might have to buy some online as suggested by Judi! They were so delicious! :et me know if you find some and what you make from them!

  3. i really must embrace cauliflowers more. So many excellent recipes for them out there, including this one of yours, Petra! Very creative and I must say sounds so gourmet. But then, you’ve always been a gourmet kind of cook. Can’t say enough about how talented you are! XOXO

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie

      you really made my day! What a lovely comment, thank you so much! If you are ever near the the coast of Kent let me know and I would be more than happy to cook for you! 🙂 And you might help and give me some hints regarding pics, yours are always so inspiring!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

