Skate with preserved lemon butter and roast baby potatoes

Week one in the new house has flown by and it is so lovely to wake up to the sound of the seagulls and open the window and smell the sea. There is something about water that has always had a pull on me, perhaps the fact that it is ever changing, or the reflection of light, making even the dullest day seem a little brighter. On a clear day we can see the white cliffs of Calais, France but we are still to make a day trip over there.

One of the reasons we haven’t gone yet are the dogs, leaving the house even for a short while can be traumatic and it makes me feel slightly guilty! They sure know how to do it!

28Feb_DogInWindow

I had never even seen the fish skate for eating before I moved to the UK. It might have been around and I didn’t see it, however it is delicious. I had never cooked it myself but at a visit to the fishmonger he could tell me what fish was caught locally, and in a sustainable way the night before and skate was one of them. I wanted to try and make it and got a couple.

28Feb_FreshSkate

I also saw some cold water prawns so I got a handful to go with the fish.

28Feb_ColdWaterPrawns

I had an idea that I wanted to cook the skate in the oven. The fish monger skinned the fish for me so all I had to do was cook it. I wanted a caper infused butter to go with it but I have no idea where my capers are hiding so I decided to go for preserved lemons instead.

The skate is a very soft fish so I wanted something with texture. I had some baby potatoes that I decided to roast and I halved them so they cooked in 30 minutes.

Quick roast potatoes

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 30 minutes

oven 200C or 400F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 10 baby potatoes
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil (any kind you prefer)
  • 1 tsp black sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • a good few turns with the pepper mill
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika

Rinse the potatoes and place in a bowl or a plastic bag. Add the spices and crush the garlic. Mix well until the potatoes are well coated.

Place in an oven proof dish and roast for 30 minutes in the oven.

28Feb_Potatoes

Whilst the potatoes are cooking start with the skate, the whole meal will be ready in 30 minutes!

Skate with preserved lemon butter

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 14 minutes

oven 200C or 400F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 skate wing/pp
  • 1/4 preserved lemon
  • 1 shallot onion
  • 1 handful of prawns
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • olive oil for drizzle

Rinse and pat dry the skate wings, place in a large oven proof dish on non stick baking paper. Add salt and some ground white pepper and drizzle over a little olive oil.

28Feb_SkateToCook

Peel the prawns, some of these had roe in them so I put that to the side.

Prawn roe 28Feb_PrawnRoe

Set the peeled prawns aside until you are ready to serve.

28Feb_PeeledPrawns

When there are 15 minutes left for the potatoes to cook add the skate to the oven and cook everything for 15 minutes and make the butter.

Chop the shallot onion fine, cut up the preserved lemon, the flavor is delicate but too much might make the dish taste like some citrus detergents smell so be a little careful!

Place the onion and the butter in a pan and melt it, let the onions cook for a minute and then take it off the heat. Add the preserved lemons and the prawn roe and set aside to infuse. Re heat just before serving. I know butter is a bit naughty but it helps bring out the flavor in the fish and in this case, a little goes a long way.

The skate is cooked when the meat easily comes off the cartilage. I poured the infused butter over the skate, garnished with the prawns and served with the roasted potatoes.

28Feb_SkateDinner

Skate was so easy to cook it moved up among my favorite fish! It is a perfect fish for those who hates bones as all you do is peel the soft meat off and eat it, not a bone in sight and it has a beautiful fresh and delicate flavor. With all this readily available, fresh, fish I will be eating a lot more than before!

Comments
One Response to “Skate with preserved lemon butter and roast baby potatoes”
  1. ediblethings says:

    How lucky that you have a ready source of the freshest and most sustainable fish on your doorstep. This dish looks lovely

Leave a Reply

