A prawn starter and a new fish, huss with veg and guaccamole

I have to admit I still haven’t found a butcher here that I have taken to and I am missing Robson’s Butcher in Hampton Hill. I am sure I will eventually find one but it seems to take time. To counter that there are some absolutely amazing fishmongers, making it easier to buy fresh fish. I grew up by the sea and we ate a fair bit of fish and it was always fresh, just like here!

The fishmonger down the road is a small outlet for the local fishing boats, and he is telling me about what is fresh, in season etc. Today I saw a new kind of fish, called huss. It also goes under the names dogfish and rock salmon and it belongs to the catshark family, it was quite a handsome fish.

12March_Huss

I bought a couple and the fishmonger skinned them for me. He also had some fresh prawns so I got some just because they looked irresistible.

I peeled the prawns and saved the roe. I mixed 2 tbsp of light crème fraiche with the roe and 1 crushed garlic clove and a little cracked black pepper, sliced an avocado and we had it as a starter.

12March_PrawnStarter

Now it was time to deal with the huss. This is what it loos like skinned.

12March_HussFillets

I decided to eat them with a guacamole and vegetables.

Huss with pan fried vegetables and guacamole

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 17 minutes

oven 180C or 360F

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 skinned huss
  • salt & pepper

Vegetables

  • 1/8 cauliflower
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 onion
  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 1 handful of kale
  • 1 tbsp. cooking oil
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • salt & pepper

Cube the potatoes, chop the onion and the cauliflower. Cut the stem from the kale and slice the broccoli.

12March_Veg

Heat oil and butter in a frying pan, add salt and pepper to the fish and pan fry it so it browns on the outside. Once this is done place the fish in the pan in the oven for 14 minutes.

Heat oil in another non stick frying pan and add the spices and let them cook for a minute. Add the potatoes and cauliflower, let them fry for about 5 minutes before adding the remaining vegetables and let fry until the fish is cooked, they should then be cooked through.

I served the huss with the guacamole, the vegetables and a slice of lemon.

12March_HussDinner

Huss has a quite distinct taste, it was not bad at all, just different. For me it was more the texture, the flesh was very soft and I was missing the “bite”. The jury is still out on the huss but I am glad I tried it and I might do a search for other recipes and see if something comes up that I feel I must try. If you have tried this fish and have a good recipe please let me know!

Comments
4 Responses to “A prawn starter and a new fish, huss with veg and guaccamole”
  1. ediblethings says:

    Your photos look so beautiful, Petra. Rock salmon used to be widely used in fish and chips, so you may want to play around with batter and potato of various kinds?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mel

      thank you 🙂 What a great idea! I will have a think about that and see what I can do when they have it next time.

  2. Corina says:

    I love trying new fish but I don’t think I’ve ever tried Huss before. Where I grew up there were lots of good fishmongers but unfortunately I don’t have anywhere nearby to buy good fish these day.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina

      I think I have been looking for fresh fish for a long time and it is so plentiful here, I feel really lucky. Saying that I am still looking for a good butcher that isn’t too far away 🙂 The huss meat had a very different texture and we are still not quite sure, the meat holds very well during cooking so perhaps it would be better in a curry.

Leave a Reply

