Pancetta wrapped garlic and chilli prawns and a gorgeous sunrise

Something has changed lately. I have, for as long as I can remember, found it hard to get up in the morning. It might be the change, the fresh air or anything really but I keep waking up early. The other day I woke up at 6.02 am and it was impossible to get back to sleep, my body told me it was time to get up. A neighbor said we should go to the beach and watch the sunrise one morning and me being awake I woke everyone up and we went to the beach for a fresh morning walk.

The sun was rising at 6.34 am and I was ready with my camera. It was absolutely gorgeous.

One of the fishing boats on the beach Sunrise-FishingBoat

Sun rising over the pier Sunrise_Pier

It was a great start to the day and it was so beautiful it made me smile.

Later that day I was passing by the fishmonger and I bought some king prawns for a snack. I had some thinly cut pancetta that I decided to use with the prawns.

Pancetta wrapped garlic and chilli prawns 

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 2-4 minutes

set the oven to grill

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 10 raw king prawns
  • zest of 1/2 lime
  • 1/4 chipotle chilli
  • a pinch of seasalt
  • 1-2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 10 coriander leafs

Peel the king prawns, remove the head but keep some shell at the end of the prawn to make it easier to eat. Cut along the top of the back and remove the intestine.

In a bowl, zest the lime, chop the chilli fine. Peel the garlic clove and cut it fine. Mix with salt and the oil and “stuff” the king prawn.

09March_RawStuffedPrawns

Place on a rash of pancetta with a coriander leaf and roll it up.

09March_PrawnWrapping

Place all the pancetta wrapped prawns in an oven prof dish.

09March_WrappedPrawns

Place the prawns under the grill, just long enough for the prawn to cook through, watch them so that they do not over cook.

09March_CookedWrappedPrawnd

The chipotle chilli gave the prawns a nice kick and the lime acidity and I love the combination of garlic and any seafood. Next time I will do what I originally planned, place them on the barbecue.

I am taking this to food blogger Angie’s party Fiesta Friday, all about sharing, inspiring and being inspired!

FoodFiestaFriday

Comments
18 Responses to “Pancetta wrapped garlic and chilli prawns and a gorgeous sunrise”
  1. Nancy says:

    Such a beautiful sunrise 🙂 The shrimp look fantastic too! I love the flavor pancetta lends to the foods it is prepared with…very nice dish!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nancy

      Thank you for stopping by and your comment 🙂 I agree, pancetta and/or bacon makes just about everything taste lovely!

  2. I food food, I eat food, and I love food. 😀 ))) I hope you have more prawns for the party, because I want all on the plate. 😛

  3. You made it to the party, Petra! Love the shrimps and the sunrise even more! How lucky to live close to a beach. I can sit there and stare at the water and the sun for a looong time. Probably shouldn’t stare at the sun too long, though. Lol…, but it’s beautiful, yeah?

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie

      Yes I did make it 🙂 I love your party, great idea! The sea is beautiful and ever changing and the sunrise was well worth getting out of bed for! It made me smile all day! 🙂 I am like you trying not to stare in to the sun for too long but this was mesmerizing!

  4. Oh yum… and what a happy post! Gorgeous photos!! 🙂 I look forward to catching up on your blog!

  5. Patty Nguyen says:

    What a great idea to stuff the shrimp! Plus a delicious combination of flavors!

  6. Yum – I make something similar but use prosciutto. I will have to try your recipe using pancetta 🙂

  7. ediblethings says:

    I bet it is the abundance of natural light that is waking you early. I never get it when I have a lot of street lighting around, but I’m up with the lark when I’m a bit more rural. Lovely photos

  8. Ngan R. says:

    These prawns look fantastic–perfect for a snack or a starter to a meal. The photos of the sunrise are so lovely, too!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ngan

      thank you! and thank you for stopping by. I was thinking of having a cocktail party just so I can make more of them! 🙂

  9. saucygander says:

    Beautiful photos of sunrise! You make me wish I lived near a beach and could buy seafood fresh from the fish monger. The prawns sound absolutely delicious, using pancetta is a great idea!

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you 🙂 It was a stunning sunrise and I am so glad I went down to the beach. I haven’t lived by the sea for a long time and only when I moved here I realized how much I had missed it!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

