Vindaloo inspired ribs with a crunchy, sour salad

After three weeks I am still discovering things to do and places to eat here. This weekend, at the market was a stall that caught my attention. It was a small stall selling meats and sausages that looked delicious. I bought some fennel and garlic sausages and some bacon for brunch and it was a treat, especially together with some fresh eggs. t wasn’t the meat that really caught my attention, it was the largest oysters I have ever seen! It turned out that it was The Wild Kitchen, run by Lucia Stuart who runs foraging courses, she was selling foraged wild oysters for 50p each!

Wild Oyster

It was a delicious treat. One was enough and for another 50p you could get a merguez sausage as well! The best bargain of the day.

After brunch we had a tip about a farmshop that is supposed to be great. I was hoping that they might have a butcher and we headed over there to have a look. It was a big place with lots of local produce and indeed a butcher. Their meat counter looked a lot more like what I was used to so I could not help but buy a few things. I still miss my old butcher as there were no smiles, no cooking tips or a nice chat here, and a quizzical look at my request to have the meat cut in a certain way but it is a start and the meat was great. I had bought some pork ribs, I wasn’t sure what to do with them but they looked too good to be left there.

I have mentioned before that I haven’t made curry very often, I have done a few trials but when I came across a recipe for Chicken Vindaloo in Saveur Magazine and all of the sudden I knew what to do with the ribs. You can see the full recipe here, I made some amendments so here is my version. I have never used so many spices and I was glad to finally get stuck in to making a curry! I was a little nervous about making any changes to the the recipe but decided to trust my instincts. I didn’t want the curry to be too hot but still have a bite so I used a chipotle chilli and red chilli instead of the birdseye chillies.

Vindaloo inspired ribs

preparation time 20 minutes

marinate for 24 hr

cooking time 60 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

spices for toasting

  • 1 tbsp. whole black peppercorns
  • 1 tbsp. black mustard seeds
  • 2 tsp. cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp. coriander seeds
  • 2 tsp. fennel seeds
  • 5 whole cloves
  • 1 (1″) stick cinnamon

remaining spices

  • 1/2 dl or ¼ cup Hungarian paprika
  • 1/2 dl or ¼ cup fruit vinegar
  • 1 chipotle chilli
  • 1 tsp. ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp. light brown sugar
  • 16 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 good piece of ginger, you will need quite a lot
  • 2 tbsp oil

Other ingredients 

  • 2 racks of ribs
  • 2 red chillies
  • 2 onions
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup light coconut milk
  • 2 dl or 1 cup water
  • juice of 1 lime

I had most of the spices and the only thing I had to buy was some fresh ginger. I toasted the spices in a dry frying pan.

16March_Spices1

I decided to open my bag of Javanese peppers for this curry.

16March_JavanesePeppercorns

After I had toasted the spices I placed them in the spice grinder and added the other spices, half of the crushed garlic and half of the minced ginger.

16March_Spices2

I placed all the spices in the blender with the vinegar and the oil and mixed it to a smooth paste. I cut the rack of ribs in to individual ribs and placed them in a bag with the spice paste.

16March_VindaloPaste

I mixed the spice paste and the ribs, it is easier to do in a plastic bag than in a bowl and marinated them for 24 hours.

The next day I chopped up the onion and cooked it soft in oil. I added the ribs and all of the marinade and let fry for a couple of minutes. I then added the coconut milk and the water, the crushed garlic and the minced ginger, put a lid on, and  cook for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes cook without the lid, keep an eye on it, it will need a stir every now and then.

Whilst that was cooking I boiled rice for a sour salad. I felt I needed something that would cut through all the spices. A salad dressing from Minnie’s blog post here was the base, she used lemon and I used lime. I didn’t want to make it a heavy meal and a salad would be perfect and a little rice would make a good base.

Crunchy, sour rice salad 

preparation time 35 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 yellow pepper
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1/3 cucumber
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup  brown rice
  • 2 dl or 1 cup water
  • a handful of grapes
  • 1 avocado

dressing

  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp dark sugar
  • salt to taste

Make the dressing, mix the sugar and the salt with the lime juice, add salt to taste until you have a nice balance. Cut up the avocado and add to the dressing and set aside.

16March_Avocado

I peeled the celery to get rid of the stringy parts and sliced it. I de seeded the cucumber and cut it up with the tomato, pepper and the grapes. When the rice is cooked add it to the vegetables and last add the avocado and the dressing. If the rice is still warm it will soak up some of the dressing and the flavor.

16March_CrunchySalad

The curry will be done when the meat is falling off the bone and the flavors from the spices have come together. I took the curry off the heat and added the lime juice and let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

16March_Ribs

I was sure there would be enough for lunch the next day but we ate everything, even the last scoops of the sauce with the last of the salad. I exchanged some spices, I added more ginger used coconut milk and it was delicious. The sour salad brought out the flavor of the spices and I was so pleased I had made the curry! It wasn’t very hot but the spice balance was spot on.

I have added this to the always inspiring Javelin Warriors, if you haven’t already check out his blog here, blog challenge Made with Love Mondays, all about cooking from scratch. Please also spare a moment and look at Help 4 Harleigh, if there is anything a all that you can do – every little helps!

MadeWithLove

Comments
4 Responses to “Vindaloo inspired ribs with a crunchy, sour salad”
  1. I love the salad, Petra! What a delicious combination between the cucumber, grapes and avocado. And I’m sure this was a delicious pairing with the ribs…

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark

      Thank you 🙂 I thought the salad was great and will do it again and it was lovely and crunchy, perfect with all the spices.

  2. Corina says:

    It all looks gorgeous – I hope it’s inspired you to make some more curries.

Leave a Reply

