Silken tofu and zucchini pancakes for brunch

I woke up this morning and got the surest sign of summer I get every year, the start of hayfever season! The sneezing, the tiredness and the runny nose. My body panics and believe I am under (pollen) attack and only a large amount of antihistamines works as a weapon against this! As I was feeling a little sorry for myself, blowing my nose again I decided to stay in bed for just a little bit longer. It is lovely to be a little lazy sometimes but soon my stomach started to rumble. In my mind I went through what I had the fridge and my thoughts wondered back to the zucchini (also called courgette). After some deliberation and reading some lovely food blogs I was so hungry there was no other option than to get up and get going, it was time for an indulgent weekend breakfast!

 

In the fridge I also found 1/2 pack of firm silken tofu. I had used the other half of the package in the week to make crispy tofu. I placed the tofu on the kitchen counter. Tofu is high in protein, low in cholesterol and in general good for you, see nutritional data here.  This would be perfect with my zucchini pancakes making them a little healthier. I have no idea where all my different flours are after the move so I used wheat flour as this was unpacked and on the shelf.

 

Silken tofu and zucchini pancakes 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 5-10 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pack silken tofu
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of grated zucchini
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1 pinch of sugar
  • 1 pinch of salt

Whisk the milk and the flour together and then add the eggs, I always do this as I find it easier to make a smooth batter. Add salt, sugar and the eggs and whisk until the eggs are lightly beaten. Then add the silken tofu, whisk until it is broken down, a few pieces doesn’t matter and last add the grated zucchini.

 

Heat oil in a pan and pan fry them, I did 3 at the time and I only did 2 batches. 6 pancakes was perfect for two.

 

20March_FryingPancakes

 

The pancakes are ready when they are nicely browned on both sides, the tofu and zucchini will keep them moist whilst cooking. I served them with some crispy bacon and beans.

 

30March_Pancakes&Bacon

 

I have made zucchini pancakes before and it always works a treat but I have never used silken tofu. The tofu made the pancakes softer and a little more moist, they were delicious. The bacon and the beans completed the brunch and I didn’t miss any additional sweetness but I bet a little drizzle of marple syrup would have been delicious in addition!

 

After breakfast I found a solitary, beautiful tulip in the garden! It must have begun to bloom in the last couple of days.

 

30March_Tulips

 

 

As I was walking in the garden one of the dogs gave me that “let’s play” look so we kicked his favorite toy, a battered old football around.

 

30March_Fred&Ball

30March_Fred&Ball2

 

 

After catching it and running around with it for a while he growled at it and then we start all over again! It was a great way to start the day. I have loaded up on the antihistamine and it is time to get out and enjoy the lovely day!

Comments
3 Responses to “Silken tofu and zucchini pancakes for brunch”
  1. ediblethings says:

    I hope it is hayfever, in that I really hope I didn’t gift you this horrible cold! I’m all about indulgent brunches at the moment, today, someone gave us a whole salmon, which we’ll bbq later, but I’m alreacy thi king about a lazy breakfast tomorrow with the leftovers.
    I love these pictures of your dog, he looks like he has highlights 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Mel

      oh a whole salmon! How lucky! it makes me hungry just thinking about BBQ salmon! It is all hayfever, not at all as bad today so should be fine. The dog is so cute isn’t he? he is getting on a bit and the grey is coming through, just like me! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you want to make a great pancake here are some recipes from; Cooking with a Wallflower, Food Eat Love, Damn Delicious, the BBC, and Jamie […]



Leave a Reply

