Barbecue lamb chops with stuffed mushrooms, a spicy guaccamole and sausages

The weekend was the first proper warm weekend. It wasn’t quite short sleeve weather but close and I could feel summer in the air! We went for a walk in some woods nearby. The grounds belong to an abbey and I wasn’t sure I could pick anything but we did come across some very tempting wild garlic!

 

30March_WildGarlic

 

The heat had brought out the hawthorn flowers and it was a a lovely walk.

 

30March_HavthornBlossom

 

The grounds were  quite steep and I really worked up an apetitie, it was finally time for the first barbecue of the year! I have a childish love of barbecues and I have been ready for a couple of weeks already.

Lamb chops and barbecue is a marriage made in heaven. The chops will cook quickly, they have plenty of flavor and taste lovely. I had 6 single chops but you can of course use the double, 3 each, or in this case, 2 for me and 4 for the man was plenty with all the other meats. I kept the marinade simple and I only had 20 minutes but a few hours or over night would be ideal.

 

Lamb & zucchini marinade 

preparation time 5 minutes 

marinade for 20 minutes or longer 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 6 single lamb chops
  • 4 thick slices of zucchini
  • 1 lemongrass stalk
  • 1 bunch of fresh parsley
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 red chilli
  • oil
  • salt & pepper

Rinse the lamb chops and pat them dry. Crush the garlic and roughly chop it, de seed and slice the chilli. chop the parsley and add oil, salt and pepper to the lamb chops and the zucchini slices. Mix and let stand for 20 or more minutes.

 

30March_LambMarinade

 

 

I love to put vegetables on the barbecue and I got some lovely portobello mushrooms that I wanted to stuff and cook with the meat. I think doing only meat is a bit of a waste of charcoal, it adds a lovely flavor to any vegetable.

 

Goats cheese stuffed portobello mushrooms

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 portobello mushrooms
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1/4 red pepper
  • goats cheese
  • salt & pepper

Brush the mushroom clean and remove the stalk.  Chop the pepper, onion and celery stalk. First add salt, pepper, onion and the celery, then the goats cheese and top with the red pepper. Set aside until you are ready to barbecue.

 

30March_StuffedMushrooms

 

Peel some asparagus spears, they are delicious on the barbecue.  I had some sausages, I had two Cumberland sausages that I wrapped in thin, streaky bacon before putting on the grill. I had also bought some small Tolouse sausages that I couldn’t wait to taste.

 

I gave the asparagus a brief brush with some oil so it wouldn’t stick and placed everything on the barbecue.

 

30March_LoadedBBQ

 

It all cooked in 15 minutes and whilst that was cooking I made some guaccamole to go with it.

 

Guaccamole 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 3-4 

Ingredients

  • 3 avocado
  • 2 red chillies
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • 1 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp pesto
  • 1 tbsp natural yoghurt
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 lime

Cut the avocado in half and scoop out the flesh, squeeze over the lime juice and mash. De seeds the red chillies and the tomato, chop them and the onion and parsley. Crush the garlic and add to the mashed avocado.

 

30March_Guaccamole

 

Mix and set aside to serve when the rest is ready. The addition of pesto added more flavor and it worked out very well.

 

Everything was ready in 15 minutes. I had some rolls and I built a “burger”  with guaccamole, sausage, barbecued zucchini and some lamb meat from the chops.

 

30March_BBQ

 

 

The weather was so nice we could even eat outside (with a jumper) and it was a true taste of summer.

I have added this to Javelin Warriors blog challenge, Made with Love Mondays, all about cooking from scratch!

MadeWithLove

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Barbecue lamb chops with stuffed mushrooms, a spicy guaccamole and sausages”
  1. You’re so fortunate, Petra! I would love to be grilling and enjoying these summer-y foods – and I can’t wait until the weather warms up just a bit more so I get enjoy some 🙂 This sounds delicious and love the guac…

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Mark
      Thank you 🙂 it has been warming up a bit here so got the charcoal a few weeks ago to be ready! 🙂 I just love to BBQ and I finally have a nice garden to do it in, I feel very lucky! 🙂

  2. You’re so lucky to have such lovely weather…. and that sandwich? It is truly a work of art.. I never would have thought to do something like that…and honestly? It’s a winning combination!! I LOVE this!! What a great guacamole.. I will be trying it very soon! Wonderful post.. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Prudy

      Thank you 🙂 The weather is amazing, it is even warmer today but no time for BBQ sadly. I hope you like the guaccamole as much as I do, it had a nice kick and the pesto gave it a deeper green color as a bonus! 🙂

  3. ediblethings says:

    Asparagus on the barbecue is the best isn’t it? What a wonderful start to this year’s barbecue season

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Mel

      I love asparagus! And yes, perfect for the BBQ 🙂 I love to BBQ veg, otherwise I usually tend to over do it with the meat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

